We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, Ok for a reasonable rate”
Review of Pacifica Hotel

Pacifica Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacifica Hotel
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hostel (really, that is what it is) is located in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter - you couldn't ask for a better location. There are 3 pubs across the street and 1 beside the hostel, not to mention many, many restaurants within 3 blocks. The Convention Center trolley station is about a 5 minute walk from this hostel. It's easy to get to, and convenient for almost anything you could want (transit is awesome in San Diego for getting you to the beach, Qualcomm, or shopping).

However, this 'hotel' is really old (which I do love), but this means you can hear EVERYTHING - the hotel was pretty empty when we were staying there but I think they stuck the only other patron in the room directly above ours, so we could hear every time he flushed the toilet, sneezed, and took a shower. Walls are thin, rooms are small, and there is no door on the bathroom (just a curtain). But, for the price, it's clean, has hot water when ever you need it, and the owners seem helpful and friendly. Take it with a grain of salt - this isn't the nicest hotel in San Diego but if you're on a budget, it's alright and serves the purpose.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor as you can hear everything anyone does above you if you're second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdnburlesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Would give the hotel 3 and a half rating if i could. Hotel is in a great location close by to public transport and many places to eat at and socialize. Room was pretty small and the bed was really small making it hard to sleep sometimes which is probably my only major complaint and no elevators so you will have to carry your lougage up the stairs to the entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuzzie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for the basics. I had the single room with bath - it was clean, inexpensive for the area, and in a great location (which is right in the middle of the historic Gaslamp District). There are no "extras" but it was well worth it (for example no mini fridge or microwave), but it was that it was quiet and there are tons of restaurants and shops right outside. It worked well for me attending a conference at the San Diego convention center.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lkt7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I knew when I made the reservations that I shouldn't expect a mint on my pillow, but I wasn't expecting to find bed bugs on my pillow either. I woke up with bed bug bites all over my face and body; two weeks later, I'm still waiting for the scabs to go away. I had to throw out my suitcase and backpack and launder all my clothes repeatedly, and I still live in terror that somewhere in my apartment, a newly established colony of bed bugs is just waiting for the right moment to strike. Don't be fooled by the cheap price; this place wouldn't be worth it if they paid you to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AYone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I traveled to San Diego twice last year and stayed at the Pacifica both times. We loved it. It's close to the beach, walking distance to La Jolla shopping & restaurants, but most of all because the staff was fantastic. Very kind, accommodating and not 'fake' friendly, but 'real' friendly.

The hotel bar has live piano player and there was a lot of dancing (middle-aged) 70's & 80's music.

We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
18.7 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,093 reviews
21.2 km away
Travelodge San Ysidro
Travelodge San Ysidro
#7 of 8 in San Ysidro
606 reviews
12.3 km away
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Knights Inn San Ysidro
Knights Inn San Ysidro
#5 of 8 in San Ysidro
96 reviews
6.2 km away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
22.6 km away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Hotel

Address: 551 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6979
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: RM256 - RM323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing