We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

I loved my stay here...the location is great, the staff are super friendly and helpful, it's clean and tidy and has all the facilities you need!
There are daily activities which is a great way to meet new people and to get to see the city!
I'd highly recommend this place as a solo traveller and would stay here again!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Abi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for USA Hostels San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

less noise. please. less noise. when sleeping. it was too loud. less noise. more regulation. so the noise...it was too loud. i was trying to sleep and couldn't. it was soooo loud. lots of noise. too much, in fact.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrewclark323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

As a former airline employee, always used hotels in my intent to travel the world. First time at a HOSTEL in the nest at fifth, you guys rocked my world!! I still think i don't know the entire concept yet.
I enjoyed every part of my stay, cause it means SHARING! The world needs more of that. Friendly people from random different places willing to SHARE. I used to see people as strangers when staying at hotels. This is a wonderful new world to me. I hope many people from the world get the same GRATEFUL SURPRISE!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank juantress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Loved the theme nights but wish there was more offered during the days. Definitely a spot for the younger crowd, as we were the oldest and only in our 30's

Staff was amazing. Super clean. Great location.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abrown_497405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Really nice people, friendly and helpful! The best location of SD: Gaslamp! I loved! the only thing that is not so good are the steps! So many, omg! But when i arrived there was a guy that helped me with my bag!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aleite_872671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,410 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: RM139 - RM416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing