We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, clean, and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

I spent 6 nights here and loved every minute of it! It was very quiet, clean, and well-run. I loved that there was a living room area because that gave me somewhere besides my bed where I could read and relax. The pancake breakfasts were excellent.

Room Tip: If you dye your hair weird colors like I do, be a pal and bring a towel to wrap around the pillowcas...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaddieRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

I chose this hostel for a short stay in San Diego. (2 Nights in a 6 bed room)
It has a very nice charme (subjectively!) and is very clean.
You should however note that the hostel is located in the party district, so expect some very noticable noise during the night (it gets better after 2am when the clubs closed).
The restrooms are really clean, which is a big must-have for me.
Breakfast is okay but you shouldnt expect too much of the (rather) small buffet.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fabik288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay and the great review! We will be sure to share your kind words with our housekeeping staff as they always love to hear it when guests find the hostel very clean. It is true that we are located in the heart of the Historic Gaslamp District and surrounded by some of San Diego's best restaurants, bars, and clubs so there is some noise on the street. We have done our best to soundproof the hostel as well as enforce out 11 pm quiet hours. Hope to see you again your next time in San Diego and we wish you amazing travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The hostel is very well located in the heart of gaslam qarter you have very easy acces to the trolley, and all the touristic places in the city, they have nigth activities that you can join fue free and enjoy the historic building where is located this hostel.

Room Tip: Bring your own lock
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irazuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay and the nice review! Great to hear you enjoyed some of our free daily activities that include sunset walks, pub crawls, and parties. Hope to see you again your next time in San Diego and we wish you happy and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Enjoyed my stay here in a 4 bed dorm. Dorms were not spacious but there was enough room; 'privacy pods' around the bunks and lockers in the room were well organised. Everything was extremely clean. Comfortable common room, good place to meet people. Shared bathrooms always clean and tidy (might have to wait a few minutes for a shower at busy periods in the morning). Very friendly staff. Great location in the heart of the Gaslamp district. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay a taking the time to leave us such a great review! Glad to hear you like our dorm beds that each come equipped with a privacy panel, personal reading light, power outlets, USB charger, and shelf. We will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. Thanks again for your stay and hope to see you again your next time in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Nice staff, always help. Beautiful decoration, love all the stairs inside the building.
Quiet and cozy environment, willing to stay more days, and the location pretty convenience, close to the mall and all the restaurant just downstairs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ballballwu0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay and leaving such a great review! Thank for your kind words we will be sure to share them with the staff. Hope to see you your next time in San Diego and we wish you happy and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
302 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: RM143 - RM418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing