We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
USA Hostels San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Andaz San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Island Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
393
210
60
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
210
60
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbed dormgaslamp quarterpower outletsbars and restaurantscommon areasnoisy at nightno elevatorfree breakfastnight lifeocean beachcomic concentral locationgreat place to stayenjoyed my staywould definitely stay here againconvention center
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I chose this hostel for a short stay in San Diego. (2 Nights in a 6 bed room)
It has a very nice charme (subjectively!) and is very clean.
You should however note that the hostel is located in the party district, so expect some very noticable noise during the night (it gets better after 2am when the clubs closed).
The restrooms are really clean, which is a big must-have for me.
Breakfast is okay but you shouldnt expect too much of the (rather) small buffet.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fabik288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay and the great review! We will be sure to share your kind words with our housekeeping staff as they always love to hear it when guests find the hostel very clean. It is true that we are located in the heart of the Historic Gaslamp District and surrounded by some of San Diego's best restaurants, bars, and clubs so there is some noise on the street. We have done our best to soundproof the hostel as well as enforce out 11 pm quiet hours. Hope to see you again your next time in San Diego and we wish you amazing travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The hostel is very well located in the heart of gaslam qarter you have very easy acces to the trolley, and all the touristic places in the city, they have nigth activities that you can join fue free and enjoy the historic building where is located this hostel.

Room Tip: Bring your own lock
Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irazuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay and the nice review! Great to hear you enjoyed some of our free daily activities that include sunset walks, pub crawls, and parties. Hope to see you again your next time in San Diego and we wish you happy and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Enjoyed my stay here in a 4 bed dorm. Dorms were not spacious but there was enough room; 'privacy pods' around the bunks and lockers in the room were well organised. Everything was extremely clean. Comfortable common room, good place to meet people. Shared bathrooms always clean and tidy (might have to wait a few minutes for a shower at busy periods in the morning). Very friendly staff. Great location in the heart of the Gaslamp district. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay a taking the time to leave us such a great review! Glad to hear you like our dorm beds that each come equipped with a privacy panel, personal reading light, power outlets, USB charger, and shelf. We will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. Thanks again for your stay and hope to see you again your next time in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Nice staff, always help. Beautiful decoration, love all the stairs inside the building.
Quiet and cozy environment, willing to stay more days, and the location pretty convenience, close to the mall and all the restaurant just downstairs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ballballwu0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay and leaving such a great review! Thank for your kind words we will be sure to share them with the staff. Hope to see you your next time in San Diego and we wish you happy and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

excellent stay, great location, friendly staff! I have no complaints..For the price, it was well worth it! I look forward to staying here again during my next visit to San Diego..It's right in the middle of all restaurants/bars!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank plysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAH, Public Relations Manager at USA Hostels San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your stay and the excellent review! Glad you enjoyed our location in the center of the historic Gaslamp Quarter surrounded by some of San Diego's best restaurants, bars, and clubs. We look forward to seeing you again your next time through San Diego. We wish you happy and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews