We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I don't have enough words to praise the staff at the USA Hostels in Gaslamp. Everyone was amazingly helpful, nice and friendly. I swear I'd love to live there! For Comic Con is the best place to stay, and with the new ac is even better for the hot nights. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: you can hang your extra sheet from your bed if you're in the lower bunk for extra privacy.
Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ada Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for USA Hostels San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

This hostel was great. The staff was so friendly and helpful and kind. The staff warned us when we checked in that the complimentary shampoo was made with sunflowers and offered a non-flower option if we had allergies. They stored our huge suitcases for free (we were returning from extended study abroad). There was free breakfast, plenty of helpful signs and handouts for navigating the city, and the staff knew the answer to every question we had. They even had aloe cream behind the front desk, and let me use it for a bad sunburn!

The staff on the tours were always really flexible as well. We exchanged contact info and didn't have to stay with the group the whole time.

Everything was clean. We stayed in the economy dorm room and there were no bed bugs.

My only complaint is that the front economy dorm room is really, really loud at night. It has nothing to do with the hostel, just the location. You're right above a bunch of bars and it's loud until 2 or 3 am.

A crazy drunk lady woke everyone up by screaming in the lobby at 6 am, and the lady working at the front desk handled the situation perfectly. (I would have been terrified.)

I wish there was a way for people traveling together to reserve the same set of bunk beds (like one person gets the top bed and one the bottom bed).

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 865katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

The host was clean and tidy. It has very polite and kind employees. The hostel's interiour is designed beautyfully with lot's of colours and themes of freedom and enlightenment. The kitchen was also very clean and easy to orient oneself as there were written intructions.
For us it was the best hostel we have stayed so far.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dbodme_194623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The hostel was clean, breakfast was good, staff was nice.
The Gaslamp District is loud and unpleasant at night. Make sure to get a room that is not on the street.
Great for young adults. Not a family place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ellenk545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

I spent 6 nights here and loved every minute of it! It was very quiet, clean, and well-run. I loved that there was a living room area because that gave me somewhere besides my bed where I could read and relax. The pancake breakfasts were excellent.

Room Tip: If you dye your hair weird colors like I do, be a pal and bring a towel to wrap around the pillowcas...
Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaddieRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: RM143 - RM415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing