We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in very friendly environnement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Our first stop of our California trip, and the best one .
Great location, great staff , very cool ambiance.Lost of activities proposed.They were sad to leave after meeting travelers from Europe plus San Diego beaches are super nice
Overall a great place to vacation!

Room Tip: Comfortable beds in shared mixed rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kar013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Was a great environment, awesome location, very friendly staff. Common areas (kitchen, lounge, halls, restrooms, showers) everything really clean. Only thing I would give advise on, A lot of us were there for Comic Con and only one time I was able to grab something from the included breakfast but the other days the kitchen was close. I understand that there is a schedule however during Comic con they could accommodate for us the had to get up at 4 am. Overall a great experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank plsfreya300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I booked this place because of it's convenience to the convention center since I was going here for comic con as well as the price.

The Good
I stayed in a 6 bedroom female room and I love the privacy screen built into the bunk beds as well as the outlets and shelf built into the privacy screen. The locker provided is a decent size that was able to fit my 24" luggage.

The Bad
Although the website advertises central ac, it wasn't really working in the room I stayed it. The fan in the ceiling as well as a rotating stand fan were used instead. And sometimes to keep it cool, the windows had to be opened. I really would have liked the ac to work while I was there since running around the convention center and coming back to a warm room isn't the best thing. Also, there is an outlet built into the locker but it didn't seem to work in the locker I used.

I will give it 5 stars if they can fix the ac the next time I come around!

Also, there is a flight of stairs that you have to walk up to when you first enter besides the other set of stairs you would need to get to your room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I was overall surprised at how nice and clean it was. I loved every moment of my stay there. Staff was very friendly and made me feel welcome from the start. Room, bathroom and kitchen was clean. Breakfast was nice and the shuttle to the beach was really awesome. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank strydom_nads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I've stayed at this hostel four times now, and it's always been excellent. It has great vibes, the staff is friendly, it's clean, the privacy pods are great, and the in-room lockers are big. I've only ever stayed here during Comic Con, and it's fantastic for that -- only about a 10-minute walk to the convention center, and much cheaper than hotels (as far as I've seen). It can get loud, so bring earplugs or ask for some at the front desk. They have central AC now, which is a blessing (stay cool AND be able to leave the windows closed against the party noise from the street).

Overall, I highly recommend this hostel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eamosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
302 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: RM143 - RM418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing