We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I fell in love san diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
USA Hostels San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The guys take care of you very well, there are activities every day for the people who stay there, it is very cheerful and colorful and you can meet people from many parts. It is close to everything and easy access to transport, Is nestled in a party area, but for me it was not that loud and did not bother me at all.

The strenuous of being up and down scales, are too many. There is no choice at breakfast.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank soraydatgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for USA Hostels San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Super nice staff, very clean dorms and bathrooms, kitchen as well! Don't forget to participate in the activities! If you're travelling by yourself this is probably the best place you can be to have a great time and meet new people!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zahra_zaman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a quite special hotel, located in center of San Diego. It'S quite convenient to go to some places of interest. Besides, staff here is very kind-hearted and can help to solve your problems.
Everhthing is find except for no elevator.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 418chenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This place is so special! It's a cute, small and boutique-esque hostel with all the facilities you would expect. Rooms are comfortable, shared bathrooms are always clean, and there is a decent kitchen and lounge area (only thing missing is an outdoor area but that can't really work out with the location/building). The location is also PERFECT for going out and eating/drinking. They run great activities every day/night too. But that's not why I loved this place so much... the people that work and volunteer there are incredible and so friendly, the size and vibe of the place means that it's so easy to meet people and you will always have someone to talk to or hang out with. I will miss congregating on the stairs every night while my new-found friends played their guitars. I found my family at this hostel and I will definitely be staying here again, and even coming back to volunteer. I was only there for five days and I am still regretting not staying longer! It is definitely a party hostel for those who are seeking that vibe. USA Hostels Downtown SD are legends (esp Carlos). Definitely check this place out and then go check out their sister hostel at OB too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rrr889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Clean and great location! Staff also very helpful! good atmosphere and nice help in order to do some tourism (actually they organize some excursions, etc.). It was a very nice experience and the bed was very confortable!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 96mariacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,405 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Hostels San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Hostels San Diego

Address: 726 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: RM143 - RM415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — USA Hostels San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego's original backpacker hostel, located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter for 20 years. We're in the midst of the city's most popular bars and clubs. We offer the best value and most fun in hostel accommodations with daily breakfast, free and discounted activities, free wifi and more. Our staff are always happy provide insider tips on where to go, eat, etc. Our quirky decor in a historic 1880's walk up makes our hostel unique in many ways. All rooms are shared bath. Dorms feature 'privacy pods' with privacy screening, a light, shelf and outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your USA Hostels San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hostels San Diego Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing