We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If not for the roaches, this would be a positive review.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Ranked #171 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If not for the roaches, this would be a positive review.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I arrived for a 3 night stay at this hotel and was pleased by the friendliness of the staff working here. I went to my room and found an unusually laid out, but generally not bad little room with a comfortable bed. Bathroom was small, but functional and appeared clean. The second night there, I ordered a pizza. I put the leftovers in the fridge and left the box on top of the fridge. I got up at midnight to get a drink, turned on the lights, and saw cockroaches all over the box and wall near the fridge. Immediately called the front desk and they were very apologetic and moved me to a different room on the 2nd floor (first room was a ground floor room). I examined that room to the best of my ability and didn't see anything, so I stayed that night in that room. The next afternoon after returning to the room, I went into the bathroom and had another roach scurry across the floor. I packed my things, went to the front desk, demanded a refund (which, to their credit, they did provide), and went and stayed at the Holiday Inn up the block. More expensive, but not the wild kingdom either. This could have been a very nice little budget hotel with good breakfast options, but roaches are never acceptable at any price point.

Room Tip: If you do plan to stay here, ascertain that the roach problem has been addressed before booking. Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotAskingForMuch2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience.
The problem has been taken care of by Pest Control experts.
We do our best to prevent problems from recurring.
I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Thank you,

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    71
    42
    29
    18
See reviews for
42
82
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel was a huge disappointment. For the price ($89.95/night) we had way better accommodations on our recent 3 week tour of CA, AZ, UT and CO. The room appeared to have been furnished with items from local second-hand shops. Furniture was arranged helter-skelter.
WI-FI was marginal to non-existent. The room smelled bad.I would not stay here again, and I think anybody who has stayed here would feel the same way.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimho2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
I am truely sorry that your stay with us was disappointing.
Thank you for your feedback.

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Zürich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Room dirty, bad service, loud, breakfast horrible, miss this place!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is an older Comfort Inn property with modest, clean rooms within steps of the harbor and fine restaurants (we particularly enjoyed the Pizza Nova) and convenience of a Navy Exchange (NEX) four short blocks away. What truly makes it a delight is "A.J. and Tim" at reception who were extremely friendly, courteous and highly articulate. Both of these gentlemen were solicitous and helpful in providing us with information and scheduling a van pickup from the hotel to the B Street Terminal a few miles away for our Holland America cruise to Hawaii. The hotel, as typical with most Comfort Inns attracts mostly mature retirees who are very considerate and respectful of other hotel occupants. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice swimming pool and sunbathing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aebi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
The staff and I are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Point Loma area has a very good selection of restaurants and many are within walking distance of the hotel. Pizza Nova is one of my favorites, the Artichoke Dip is delicious.
I hope you had a wonderful time on your trip to Hawaii.
We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.

Thank you,

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Here I sit at the Comfort Inn wishing I was at a nicer hotel. This Hotel is average. There is nothing special about it. If you don;t care if it isn't up to date then this is the place for you. I wish I could leave but we are locked in. So spend a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CindyLou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athmanager, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you

A J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ramada San Diego Airport
#139 of 283 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#183 of 283 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor

Property: Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Address: 5102 N Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-2356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): RM371 - RM679
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of San Diego's most convenient hotels, the Comfort Inn At The Harbor, just one mile north of the San Diego International Airport. This San Diego, CA hotel is centrally located near many popular destinations, including Sea World San Diego marine life adventure park, historic Old Town San Diego, the San Diego Zoo , Mission Beach and Ocean Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At The Harbor Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing