We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If your are Patriotic then you will appreciate this stop.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Rosecrans Cemetery

Fort Rosecrans Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #10 of 420 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If your are Patriotic then you will appreciate this stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Grave sites and memorials from the recent wars back to the Spanish American war are found on this beautiful piece of land up on the point overlooking the San Diego Harbor. On major holidays, boy scouts place an American flag at every grave and you will hear taps being played at sunset.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank LandOrSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    223
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great cemetery, but not much beyond that”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This place is good as a cemetery and place to honor those who have fallen while serving our country. The view is spectacular as well. However, that's all there is, unless you wish to use this as a quick stop on the way to the Cabrillo National Monument

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank hamtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Final resting place of my Dad - A Great American Hero”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful view of the bay, city, North Island. It is humbling to see the rows of white headstones of those who have sacrificed for this country.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Drove by...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We passed on our way to the lighthouse, it was very impressive. Reminded me of Arlington National Cemetery, smaller of course but rows and rows of lined white headstones of those who died for our country.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irishbug333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North American
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful place with incredible views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Fort Rosecrans Cemetery is on the way to the Cabrillo Monument and Point Loma Lighthouse, and it would be a shame not to stop and look. The cemetery is lovingly maintained (as it should be!) and it is a beautiful place to walk around and enjoy the view of San Diego.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MKUltra3340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Rosecrans Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fort Rosecrans Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing