We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So good we extended !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #47 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good we extended !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Visiting from the UK we had planned to stay for four nights but this hotel fitted our requirments so well that we stayed another night rather than returning to LA.

Excellant location with views of Downtown and Coronado Island. The other side of the hotel you have a view of the Marina. As I like aircraft I chose the bay view, with activity at NAS North Island.

Hotel may be dated but I like that, rather than a souless "modern". Rooms were very spacious, well equipped and kept spotlessly clean. Beds comfortable with good linen.

Reception were very helpful and curtious and other staff worked hard to make us feel welcome.

I found the free Wi-Fi suitable for my needs.

Parking was convient and although there was a small charge it is not excessive.

Breakfast is included and although lacks imagination was fit for purpose and the staff worked hard to keep it going, although cereal bowls seemed to in short supply.

We had two meals in the resturant and that is where the place fails. The menu is unimaginative. The food was over cooked and not well balanced. A Cobb Salad was overpowered by the blue cheese. The waiting staff were, however, attentive and pleasent.

This hotel scores well on value for money and location being close to all that San Diego has to offer. Easy reach of airport, attractions and some very good restaurants.

When we return to San Diego we will not hesitate to book Bay Club Hotel for our stay but will be eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had ground floor bay view. Next time it will be 2nd floor bay view. If you dont like planes, heli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    470
    130
    46
    20
See reviews for
399
588
46
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Bay Club hotel in a Bay view room. While the hotel was an older style everything was spotless and the rooms were large. We found the Marina a great place to stay away from the hustle and bustle but most attractions were less than a 10 minute drive. The breakfasts were good although has a person with dietary requirements a 3 day stay there meant I was a bit limited on options. It would be great if there was some yoghurt and some rice or corn based cereals available. The service was also good. I would love to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: A room away from the stairs would reduce noise from guests who are having drinks in the lobby later...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have to admit I was concerned about this establishment because the price was so good, but it turned out to be a great place to stay!

I was in town on business and brought my family with me.

It was clean, quiet, and not far from where I had to go to work. Just across the street from a decent park. Breakfast was ok too.

The only drawback was the hotel rooms seemed to be decorated in the 80's and not updated since.

Can't complain one bit. We enjoyed our stay.

Definitely will recommend to friends!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The location of this hotel is great. However, the decor is a bit "tired." The rooms were clean and comfortable but a bit tired looking. The staff were very courteous. The breakfasts were very good. A good value for the location. I enjoyed walking by the bay and seeing the seals and pelicans. It was relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NsjoyceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I haven't stayed here, but we entertained a large group at this hotel for dinner in a private room. Be advised that this is far from a "fine dining" experience. For starters, they didn't act much like they were expecting us even though we were the ONLY customers. To make matters worse, the food was cold and just not very good. To make matters worse, the room smelled musty. Very much a cheap hotel atmosphere. Also, larger group dining rooms are very old and decor is outdated. Unfortunately, I now have to apologize to my guests for the food and the atmosphere. I was frankly shocked at my experience given the reviews on sites like Open Table.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustBeHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thisavonladysadude, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your banquet experience at our hotel left you disappointed. We always strive for five-star service and are disheartened when we fall short. Your feedback will allow us the opportunity to review your comments with our banquet and kitchen staff to ensure the highest levels of service, food temperature and taste. The banquet room your group was in had recently been painted which would likely account for the odor you mention. Our Sales & Catering Department would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss the specifics of your event with you. Please contact them directly at 619-222-5866. Warmly, Aaron Willard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#19 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price range (per night): RM696 - RM1,048
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing