We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$169
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$501
US$453
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$126
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$359
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$323
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,706)
Filter reviews
3,710 results
Traveller rating
966
1,042
812
523
367
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
966
1,042
812
523
367
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred marlinmission bayregency clubsea worldswim barwaterfront suitetower roompool areasea lionsoverlooking the marinafire pitbelmont parkfamily vacationla jollapoolsseaworlddowntown
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 3,710 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

If you can get past the outrageous $38/night parking fee, plus the $32/night fee fee of some sort, you may find the pool area to be quite nice. Pool was cool (cool season), but hot tub and slide were great.
We had a suite, so well laid out for families, but the condition was rather old and shabby (added to the extra fee bewilderment ). Double sofa bed good for smaller kids. Room clean service was good (a deep clean was certainly needed though).
Red Marlin restaurant on site is fine dining, so you get what you pay for. Many good restaurants a short drive away. Hard to beat the location. For the money I expected the Hyatt to better, honestly.

Room Tip: Suite faced the harbour. 2 bedroom with bathroom/ closet separating. Nice layout and view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Bryan V,
Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Got upgraded to tower-it's worth it every penny. Was nervous about other reviews but no problems at all. Here and there some stains on carpets but overall it was good. The surroundings are awesome - marina nice and clean. Fish and chips place kind of expensive but it'll do if you hungry. Market place ok if you willing to stand in line for 10 minutes listening to ridicules orders. Better go to Mission Bay Star Bucks and get some service really fast.Walking distance to the beach and all the good stuff.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank RYSZARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

RYSZARD G,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to create the best experience for each of our guests, and I'm so glad we were able to make the impact on your stay. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We took our first family vacation with all three kids (5, 3 and 1) and stayed at this property. I travel a lot for work so I am typically a pretty good judge of hotels when booking them. This one appeared to be a great hotel for families so we upgraded to a Family Suite (and paid more to do so) with a Marina or Pool view so my wife and I could enjoy the balcony and view while the kids were napping/asleep.

The overall property is decent but it caters more to corporations as they had several conferences going on. They do have a couple of small water slides, a shallow end of one pool (for little kids) and a few games but it is better suited for businesses/conferences.

Unfortunately, our experience was not a good one mainly due to our Family Suite.

Family Suite
- This was the most disappointing part of the hotel by far. Again, we upgraded (paid more) to a Family Suite that advertised a Marina or Pool view so our expectations were high. The Family Suites are on the 2nd floor of the Tower. Once we entered our suite we immediately realized it overlooked a roof that covered the service docks and we only had a very slight view of the marina through the dense trees (see attached picture). The service dock is where the industrial trash compactor, laundry carts and laundry trucks reside. I called the front desk to express our disappointment with the suite and the view and was told they don't guarantee the view...yet they market it with a Marina or Pool view. How can you say you don't guarantee a view when they market that on their site? The girl at the front desk told us they couldn't move us to a different suite.

The Family Suite was not very conducive to kids. It appears it is one of their standard suites that they simply removed the couch from the living room area and replaced it with a bunk bed. The big conference table was still in that room so it appears they move the bunk beds in and out when someone books a Family Suite. Otherwise, it's a regular suite by putting the couch back in.

The issues with the room continued. The industrial trash compactor in the service dock woke all of us up every morning starting as early as 4:30am. Then we'd hear the laundry carts, laundry trucks, people talking, etc. after that. We were also right next to the elevator bay (which we requested not to be next to), would hear some kind of drilling sound each day (not sure if it was a service room near us) and to top it off they have meeting/party rooms below us on first floor that had extremely loud music from a corporate event. Even one of our kids came in the room saying she couldn't sleep with that loud music. We had to call the front desk three times to get them to turn down the music. Then, those people went out onto the patio which was directly below our room as well. Why would anyone put Family Suites directly above the party rooms? We also didn't have any hot water in the bathroom sink and called to have it repaired. Nobody ever came to fix it so we had cold water all week. Also, the shower head would not turn off when we were filling the tub for the kids.

I did speak to the manager halfway through our stay and he offered to move us (after the front desk girl told us they couldn't) but by that time we only had two nights left and it would have been a large undertaking to move all of our stuff. We also spoke to another family that had similar issues and they chose to move but they ended up having to wait for quite a while to get into the new room and we didn't want to go through that with three small kids.

The manager did credit us a few items but it was nowhere near what it should have been and we continued to experience disruptions/noise after that, every single night/morning. I left a message for the manager the day we arrived back home he still hasn't called me back.

Here were a few more issues we encountered and things to be aware of.

Luggage Cart
- Upon arrival we saw a luggage cart in the lobby and went to grab it. The bell hop asked what we were doing and we told him we were going to use it to put our luggage on it and wheel it up to the front desk. He told us they do not let guests use it and it's only for hotel staff. We had already hauled the kids and luggage through two airports and two shuttle buses so getting luggage from the vehicle to the front desk wasn't that big of a deal but come on...you can't let us use it from our car to the front desk?

Check-in
- I was at the counter to check in and was told they had to handle something else that was more important. No explanation while I stood there and waited.

Parking
- They charge $38 per day for self-parking if you plan to park a car there. This charge is buried on their site so this may come as a surprise to most guests. There is on-street parking but that ends from 2am-4am so you are forced to pay to park in the lot. Another charge.

Resort Fee
- You will be charged a $36 per day fee on top of the room rate. Another charge.

Swim Bar
- The bill includes an upcharge to cover some worker wages or something like that. Another charge.

Smores
- If you do have kids they will charge you $15 for smores over a gas fire pit. Bring your own.

Are you starting to see the pattern with all of the extra charges? They will nickel and dime you for everything and it can add a significant amount to your final bill.

Room Tip: Family Suites experience a lot of exterior noise.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burbanlife129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Burbanlife129,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We appreciate your candor, as we utilize guest feedback in how we approach service and updates to our hotel. We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are eager for an opportunity to serve you better the next time you visit sunny San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Wow, this place was really nice. I will definitely go back when ever I go to San Diego! I first checked in with Emily... she was very great and accommodating ..I got everything I wanted plus more I felt soo happy. When you walk through the lobby its like you walk into paradise there is palm trees everywhere,3 pools and a large Jacuzzi. That was one of the best Jacuzzis I have ever been in! The restaurant was pretty good. The hostess guy was very nice by phone and even in person when I went to grab food. Overall this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Thanks All :)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaquala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Shaquala P,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at our hotel. As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback & we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I greatly appreciate your kind words and they will be celebrated with the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

The rooms are dated. There is mold in the bathrooms on the tower. There is mold affecting the rooms in the mission area. The bedding is not comfortable. The pillows were not quality. The carpeting is aged in the rooms. There is an issue with the mechanical function sounding out jackhammering at 4-5:30 in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
2  Thank tara539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

tara539,
As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews