We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
244
119
42
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
119
42
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuss midwaybarn doorfifth floorgreat locationtrain stationcorner roomthe santa fe depotcruise terminalbroadway pierbreakfast buffetfloor to ceiling windowsfrosted glassno safe in the roomthe breakfast areaseaport villagestar of indiaself park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My important medicine was taken from an open bag on desk. House keeping staff said they would investigate. Ask multiple times and got the run around. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was crowded and no variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dietrichs51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin T, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest dietrichs51,
Thank you for staying with us at the Springhill Suites by Marriott San Diego Downtown/ Bayfront. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It's unfortunate that we were not able to resolve this matter to your satisfaction while you were still registered at the hotel. Your feedback came as a surprise to us as after researching your response we have confirmed that our Loss Prevention team did reach out to you regarding the reported lost and found item. Please know providing a clean, comfortable, relaxing, safe stay is our top priority. We develop and motivate our staff to ensure that we provide truly exceptional experiences for our guest. Please know we truly appreciate your feedback and that we have shared your feedback with the appropriate staff members to ensure this was an isolated incident that is not repeated. We hope for the opportunity to enhance your experience and serve you again when your travels bring you back to the beautiful city of San Diego. Thank you again.
Sincerely, Justin T. - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Springhill Suites in San Diego which also houses the Radisson hotel. We chose the Springhill suites side as it was priced better. The hotel is within walking distance to the Midway Museum, Downtown (there's a Saturday Farmer's Market), and Seaport Village. We requested early check in and Angelina at the front desk was a big help in arrange our early check in. The rooms were modern and had floor to ceiling windows. The one thing that was strange in our room was the placement of the TV. The TV was located on a wall where it was not easily viewed from the bed or couch, which did not bother our stay as we were able to enjoy our time there without the TV. Breakfast was a full buffet with plenty of hot and cold items. It is also located within walking distance of various food establishments. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms where perfect, nothing to add. Unfortunate the experience with the breakfast was bad. First of all there where way to many guests for that size of a breakfast restaurant. People where standing in a line, just to get in (See picture). Inside the restaurant people where fighting for the chairs, and the food was a very poor quality! Scrambled eggs tasted terrible, and generally far from what you would expect for a 4 Star hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I sincerely apologize for the experience you had at breakfast. On our high occupancy weekends we usually set up additional seating and buffet line in our meeting space to accommodate our guests, so I will investigate why this was not done during your stay. I have shared your experience with our team to ensure we make further improvements to the breakfast process. Thank you again for your honest feedback. Sincerely, Jocelyn C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel would have gotten 5 stars from us except for the breakfast. The staff were fabulous. A special shout out to Denee on Reception, who made our stay very special. What a wonderful girl. The Hotel is in a great location, the rooms are great - very spacious & clean. Ours had a partial view to the north of the bay & the airport. Gorgeous!
We were boarding a cruise so only had to walk across the road to the cruise terminal. Excellent !! The breakfast was lousy. I expected so much more from a Marriott. Paper plates & plastic knives & forks- Really??? And the same old plastic scrambled eggs every day. One day we didn't even bother. We went somewhere else. But other than the breakfast, I would highly recommend this Hotel for staff, location, views & quietness.

Room Tip: A Room with a view on a high floor.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

The hotel is close to the Midway. Checked in earlier and got in harbor view rooms with floor to ceiling windows. Everything was okay but they charged me twice. I asked the lady at the front desk when I check out. She explained patiently without check, just promised it could not happen. Unfortunately it happened. Had to contact the hotel again and again, Finally got the refund after a month, about 50 days. It's the first time I met such things. Wish they have a good system.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tao224CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your review, I sincerely apologize for your experience with the billing. We definitely strive to give impeccable service in all aspects of the hotel. Please know that I have addressed this issue with our staff to be more thorough in the check-in process to ensure this does not happen again. I am delighted you were able to check in early and enjoyed your room. We hope should your travels bring you back to San Diego, you'll choose to stay with us again. Sincerely, Jocelyn C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews