We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outer Cape Camping at Its Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paine's Campground

Paine's Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellfleet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paine's Campground
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outer Cape Camping at Its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

If you love Nature, camping out, roasting marshmallows on an open fire and being within walking distance to one of Wellfleet's nicest kettle ponds you should definitely check out Paines! Even though my last name isn't Paine I always feel like family when camping here. I've camped from CA, NV, NH, ME, etc. Paines is #1 in my book. The Cape Cod woods in the summer?! Yes please!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robg1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I'd like to give this a better rating but, well, I have to wonder. What part of motorcycles with "cut" pipes (rattle glass at 1/4 mile) is synonymous with "quiet"?
The owners are very vigiliant about some things, proably for the best. But they let in a motorcycle that had cut pipes which, as you probably have heard, are not quiet. They also allowed people to check in at 10PM or so... complete with idling engines (for headlights), and the usual banging and loud talk. Yes, these sites are farily close to each other...which comes with the territory but it also means management doing their job.


Some other details, that at 40. per night should be automatic. More than 2 hooks for multiple sinks in wash up area. A place for you to put down your bar of soap at a bathroom sink.. common sense right... nope.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

The first time we camped at Paine's was in 2000. They even remembered we had moved campsites that time. We enjoyed it so much that when we returned to Wellfleet in 2012 we thought we would try them again.
This time we stayed in a couples quiet area. This section is for pure outdoors lovers. They even restrict radio in this area so it is just you and nature sounds: Excellent. There were other areas for people with children and others without noise restrictions. They do control late night partying and do not allow all night fires. They do allow controlled fires and grills which is not common on the cape, because of the chance of forest fires in the national forest. Very safe.
Great mix of camper. Everyone we met were interesting and friendly. Location can not be beat. There is even a cape pond within easy walk of your camp site. My wife was up early every morning for an early swim. Just her and the birds with steam rising off the water that early
The people treated us nicely and were long time cape codders and therefore a great source of information for all our questions. The prices were reasonable even for wood and ice. Bathrooms were always clean and everything worked.
Even though we love luxury hotels this
will always be our first choice in Wellfleet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjbjWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quaker Hill, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just came back from a weekend on The Cape and oh oh what a great time we had! We stayed at Paine's Campground and it was lovely. Pine forest, private site, lovely people around. No litter, nice bathroom. Warm clean showers for quarters-- worked out just fine! Def. would go back. Spent the day at a magnificent beach, White Crest and the night at The Beachcomber to hear a great band. Both were very close by --about 5 minutes by car. The attendant recommended The Wicked Oyster for breakfast and an omelette with avocado and goat cheese, YUMMMY! P-Town was about a 20 minute drive and of course lively and friendly. Mohitos at The Patio with $1.00 oysters, shrimp, and pork sliders! Great salads. All of the campgrounds on the Cape are $40. So that's that! Open your wallet and enjoy yourself because it is way too awesome there to complain about anything!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spunupradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was our second year here and both times we wish we could stay longer. Friendly family service when you arrive. We come in September when it is off season and it feels very secluded. Clean bathroom houses and showers. It's one of the few places we could find where campfires are allowed. It's not camping if you can't toast some marshmallows. Next year we plan to get some fish at Mac's seafood market and bring it back to the campsite and grill it up. This is a nice family run campground and I hope they can keep it alive for many years to come. Great location too.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmhanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
3.5 km away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
5.5 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 km away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Wagner at Duck Creek
The Wagner at Duck Creek
#5 of 10 in Wellfleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.9 km away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
7.0 km away
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paine's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paine's Campground

Property: Paine's Campground
Address: 180 Old Kings Hwy, PO Box 944, Wellfleet, MA 02667-8001
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Wellfleet
Number of rooms: 155

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing