We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Picnic”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We went by on a recommendation to pick up dinner for a sunset beach picnic. It was a brisk evening so we ordered "chowdah" and bisque. it was delicious.

Thank Bobbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Bobbi, thanks for taking that recommendation and grabbing a bite with us. It's wonderful that you all got to enjoy that sunset! Hope to see you soon.

All the best,
Todd B, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

welcoming, casual place, affordable sushi. many regulars. staff was very accommodating to other guests, made suggestions and accommodated special requests. if sushi is new to you and you don't want to spend top dollar at a fancy place, then get your Pequod over to Moby Dick's, Ishmael.

Thank DOUGLAS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Douglas, With all due respect I think you have the wrong restaurant. We are on Cape Cod and we do not serve sushi. best, Todd Barry (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

My parents, husband and I toured the Cape last Sat the 23rd for the first time (did a complete New England trip for 9 days) and we saw a lot of cars there so figured it must be good. Boy they didn't disappoint! The staff were so helpful and friendly and the food was amazing! My dad loved talking to the owner about a shared love of history and the gift shop got some money from us! :) We will be back! I'll drive from Central PA for a meal in this place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Lori, thanks so much for dropping in to see us for a meal! Glad it was such a nice surprise. We love passing a little Cape knowledge and local tips on when we can. So appreciate the support! Hope to see you again soon.

Love and lobster rolls,
Todd B, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Don't let the long line out front dissuade you. It moves rapidly and the food is fantastic. Always our first choice for meals on the Cape. Casual and relaxed. Can accommodate a large party.

Thank SMSGlassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks for your note! Thrilled to be a first choice. Hope to see you all soon!

Best,
Todd B, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Another evening at Moby's. Always consistent food and service. What's to like: excellent seafood menu, salads and desserts.
Add an always friendly and conscientious staff and it's always a good visit.
Love being able to bring a bottle of our favorite wine and receiving a bucket w/ ice from Moby's.
Can be busy during summer season but the line outside moves quickly.
Our family often utilizes the take-out during the super busy times.
One of the best casual and consistently good seafood restaurants on the outer Cape!

Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Donna, we're pleased everything is consistently this good. We'd love nothing more than another opportunity to serve you all in the near future. Thanks again!

Love and lobster rolls,
Todd B, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing