We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not To Be Missed”
Review of Cameron House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cameron House Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2017

My wife and I spent 2 nights in the Kingfisher Room which is a large king room with en-suite bathroom with shower over the tub. The hanging rail is also in the bathroom.

Chris, the inn manager, is very warm and friendly and made us feel at home straight away. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble as she showed us around the property and to top it all, she is an excellent cook. Delicious home baking included triple chocolate cake and pecan pie. Breakfasts include the most wonderful juices and freshly prepared savoury and sweet hot options.

Guests could use the front or back porches to relax and enjoy an open log-fire. Tea and coffee was available all day, along with snacks and chocolate and those delicious cakes mentioned already. Definitely not for those watching their waistline!!

This is an excellent choice of B&B if you are in the Outer Banks area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Cameron House Inn has beautiful rooms, a delicious breakfast, and very accommodating staff who made us feel right at home. Great experience! We were visiting family who were staying in Nags Head and were delighted to discover this much less crowded location.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BaltimoreRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and I loved it. They have cookies, drinks, and snacks available. They have a fire and rocking chairs out on the porch. The owner’s cat will also come visit you while you rock. The manager, Chris (or Kris not sure of the spelling) is extremely friendly, helpful, and pleasant. The food was wonderful! The only 2 downsides were; the lack of space in the Avocet room’s bathroom to set out toiletries, curling irons, etc., and the thin toilet paper. Pedestal sinks are charming to look at, but not always convenient. We’d definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KBenyuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

When you enter Cameron House you smell the lemony aroma of polished wood. The decor of this Arts and Crafts inn is spare by design and very different from the over the top decor found in many B & Bs I have stayed in. What stands out is the hostess, Chris, and her talents in the kitchen and willingness to go above and beyond for her guests. In a previous life she taught English to non English speakers and when she found out that I do the same, she took the time to put together a portfolio of helpful ideas for me to use. The inn is conveniently located to "downtown" Manteo. I only wish my husband and I could have extended our stay to take advantage of the cooler weather, the fireplace on the back porch, the comfy rockers and Jack, the lap cat!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank rusty10370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

This older but attractive B&B was a good choice on our first visit to the Outer Banks. We have stayed in many B&B's and our main priority is cleanliness and comfort; this B&B met both needs perfectly.

Breakfast is homemade, plentiful and delicious but not a buffet as often found at B&B's. If you eat a certain item, you should ask what is planned for breakfast. Cookies and snacks always available. We appreciate that special arrangements were made for us to have coffee available early.

Creef room is on first floor; small but cozy. Bathroom is a nice size and shower worked fine. Could use another electric plug. Wifi worked well.

The atmosphere of the B&B is quiet, calm and relaxing. Parking is on street. You are close to town for shopping and restaurants. Sidewalks and walking areas are rough so be careful if you walk.

Cost seems high but I think is comparable for the area. I would suggest that a hand rail be installed for the front steps. I would recommend this B&B if you are in Manteo.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissHappyPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
6.4 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,641 reviews
14 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
21.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
239 reviews
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.2 km away
The White Doe Inn
The White Doe Inn
#3 of 9 in Manteo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House Inn

Address: 300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: RM768 - RM997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cameron House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameron House Inn is a beautiful Manteo, NC inn nestled in the heart of Roanoke Island. Near Nags Head, Cape Hatteras and famous Outer Banks lighthouses, it is the ideal accommodation location for exploring the Outer Banks, the Roanoke Island attractions and enjoying the shops, restaurants and activities of Manteo. Cameron House Inn offers six guest rooms, all individually and beautifully designed. The overall style of the inn is Arts and Crafts, and the rooms reflect that look. Special amenities give each one its own appeal. Relax in a rocking chair by the outdoor fireplace and let the quaint, peaceful spirit of small–town Manteo carry you back to a simpler time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cameron House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing