We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - clean, basic, and inexpensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Great location - close to the historic downtown area of Manteo without paying the "historic area" prices. Close to restaurants and shopping and easy drive out to the bridge over to the outer banks. Very basic accomodations but clean (our bathroom window had a taped over bullet hole in it???) We were only able to stay one night due to having to check out early due to a death in the family - was told I would get an emailed credit for one night but never received it. Their policy is no refunds after 7 days prior to check in so I guess that applies to any type of emergency - keep that in mind when booking.

Room Tip: All the motel rooms would be about the same - all are off the main street and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nktraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Endless summer cottage in the beginning of September during tropical storm Hermine. Despite the weather, our stay was amazing. The cottage is clean, very well taken care of, and perfect for two couples. There is a couch downstairs that can be used as a third bed. We were allowed to check in early, and had no issues at all the entire time. Some of downtown Manteo flooded, but we were happy to stay at the cottage during that time. It is a two minute drive to downtown and about 10 minutes to the beach. We will definitely be returning and this is where we will stay every time.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenna08126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Stayed at the Island Guesthouse. The room was spotless with two double beds and a wicker bench. Bathroom was small but clean. There was a great tiki bar attached to the back of the check-in area. They had free cofee and ice there as well. Very central location, great price, and a charming combination of classic roadside motel and hipster revival.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scarletgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

This hotel has 2 separate types of rooms which are all reviewed under 1 property. I stayed in the "guesthouse" which is a euphemism for old hotel. I did not see the cottages but the reviews are around. The guesthouse is an older structure and as such is somewhat musty. Bring air freshener with you. Also bring your own ice bucket and hairdryer as these are not provided in your room. The ventilation is by window-mounted air conditioner which did a fair job though it has to overcome the cracks in the doorway. I would recommend the management install better locks on the doors. The room locks are no better than bathroom door closures and the chain is probably not going to be effective in keeping someone out. Parking is on a gravel lot which makes moving heavy suitcases into the room problematic. It also creates unusual parking situations since no one really knows where to park in relation to their room. I somehow managed to extricate my car from between 2 perpendicularly parked cars one morning. If you only need to stay here for a night or 2, you will probably be fine. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room and coffee is available in the main entrance hall.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

My family and I loved our stay at the Endless Summer Guest Cottage. It was newly renovated, very clean and decorated in a cute beachy theme. I loved the Jucuzzi tub, and the tree house was very cool. The Adirondack chairs on the porch in the tree covered yard were a beautiful place to sit and sip coffee. I would highly recommend it to others with a group of five or six.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
13.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
0.3 km away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
240 reviews
6.8 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
10.2 km away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
39.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9762
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: RM 269 - RM 1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Guesthouse & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Island Guesthouse & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing