We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but has potential to be awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

First: the positives. Extraordinarily clean and neat, with perhaps the most comfortable firm bed I've ever slept on. Convenient parking just outside the room, and an ingenious lock system requiring a code instead of a troublesome plastic card. The maid service was perfect- the bathroom was scrubbed clean daily(we were there three nights). Complimentary coffee and even bags of ice for coolers for departing guests were provided.
Now for the negatives: there were basic issues missing that travelers come to expect. A hook on the back of the bathroom door. A dresser or flat surface area to place the second suitcase, as there was just one luggage rack. Our clothes were a jumble because we couldn't sort them out. There was one tiny table set up in front of the sofa, and we had to keep moving stuff around from the top of the TV to the little table. There should be a shelf to hold a shaving kit above the toilet in the bathroom, as there was no hook. The light on the sign should be turned on at night, for guests returning after dark. We overshot it every last time. Lastly, the Wi-Fi. The manager invited us to come into the office to work but we would have preferred to work in our room. We spent two hours at McDonald's working on business before we could embark on our sight-seeing. The Wi-Fi came on intermittently, so there was always a question whether we could get on it or not. It was an unexpected inconvenience. Perhaps it was related to the off season date of our visit. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but there were rocky areas that can be easily-and cheaply- fixed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank vicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

We found this little place for Labor Day weekend and it was a great price!! It was clean and all we needed while being down for a short 3 days. They also allowed us to bring our doggy so that was extremely helpful, and a bonus. The shower head was broke and would fall off randomly while showering but other than that, we have no complaints. It is easy to hear the neighbors, so I did wake up around 2am to them making a lot of noise. We aren't picky people so it worked for us for the short period of time we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Cute, quaint, reasonable prices are some descriptions you will hear about this place. We did not get into an efficiency or cottage and ended up in room 6 with our travel friends in room 4. Clean....mostly. Our tub would not drain so you were standing in dirty water and the shower head appeared to have mold in it. Limited shelf space for toiletries, no hangars in the closet, the sheets and towels are quite thin. BUT.....it is cheap so you get trade offs. Room 4 online does not look like room 4 in the cureent iteration. It appears that 4 has been recently painted. Rooms did have a small fridge and microwave. Coffee is from an old Keurig in the back of the main office building and it was fine. So.....set your expectations low and you will be ok with this place. Wifi was horribly erratic.

Room Tip: Try for the cottages or the efficiency..the plain rooms are not great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Owner at The Island Guesthouse & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. This winter, we invested about 20K in updating and renovating half of the rooms at the Guesthouse. Unfortunately, room #6 was one of the rooms we were not able to get to before running out of time at the beginning of the Summer season. We have taken care of the problems in the bathroom and appreciate your bringing it to our attention. Also, we've updated our wifi signal for the back rooms with an extender and haven't had any problems since. We would really like you to give us another try in one of our renovated rooms! Thank you, Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

In the heart on Mantel you will find a cozy little guest house with a tropical flair. Although the accommodations are simple and basic, they are very clean and well kept by a friendly staff.They even have an efficiency unit. I great place to stay on Roanoke Island!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Shel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in Manteo, NC. We visited the area for a family wedding. When I found out about the destination and had never heard of Manteo, I starting researching for hotels in the area. There were not many to choose. But Island Guest House popped up and showed cottage rentals. When checking over the cottages I came upon the Little Lifeboat House. It meant something to us because my husband is a Coast Guard Veteran. Looking at the pictures it appeared to be a quaint little place. I made the reservations and hoped for the best. We checked in at the main building and were given directions to our cottage. Pulling up in front it was a cute little place. Upon entering the house it was absolutely adorable. Very cute and updated. There was a bath with a shower on the first floor and a bath on the second floor with a soaking tub. The bedroom was on the 2nd floor. Every room was immaculate. The were so many personal touches and mementoes about the Pea Island Life Station. Many interesting pictures and a few newspaper articles. There was a complimentary bottle of wine titled "The Little Lifeboat House. The place was perfect for our weekend getaway and destination wedding. The area had a few shops and restaurants but many more were located in Nags Head and beyond. I would definitely recommend the Little Lifeboat House for a getaway in Manteo, NC.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
13.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
0.3 km away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
240 reviews
6.8 km away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
21.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9762
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: RM 269 - RM 1,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Guesthouse & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Island Guesthouse & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing