We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$160
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cameron House Inn(Manteo)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Doe Inn(Manteo)(Great Value!)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tar Heel Motel(Nags Head)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
22
17
12
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
17
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslifeboat housecomplimentary bottle of winesoaking tubroanoke islandno frillsshower headshops and restaurantsnags headguest housefirst flooraccommodationsshoweringclosetmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We found this little place for Labor Day weekend and it was a great price!! It was clean and all we needed while being down for a short 3 days. They also allowed us to bring our doggy so that was extremely helpful, and a bonus. The shower head was broke and would fall off randomly while showering but other than that, we have no complaints. It is easy to hear the neighbors, so I did wake up around 2am to them making a lot of noise. We aren't picky people so it worked for us for the short period of time we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Cute, quaint, reasonable prices are some descriptions you will hear about this place. We did not get into an efficiency or cottage and ended up in room 6 with our travel friends in room 4. Clean....mostly. Our tub would not drain so you were standing in dirty water and the shower head appeared to have mold in it. Limited shelf space for toiletries, no hangars in the closet, the sheets and towels are quite thin. BUT.....it is cheap so you get trade offs. Room 4 online does not look like room 4 in the cureent iteration. It appears that 4 has been recently painted. Rooms did have a small fridge and microwave. Coffee is from an old Keurig in the back of the main office building and it was fine. So.....set your expectations low and you will be ok with this place. Wifi was horribly erratic.

Room Tip: Try for the cottages or the efficiency..the plain rooms are not great
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Owner at The Island Guesthouse & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. This winter, we invested about 20K in updating and renovating half of the rooms at the Guesthouse. Unfortunately, room #6 was one of the rooms we were not able to get to before running out of time at the beginning of the Summer season. We have taken care of the problems in the bathroom and appreciate your bringing it to our attention. Also, we've updated our wifi signal for the back rooms with an extender and haven't had any problems since. We would really like you to give us another try in one of our renovated rooms! Thank you, Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

In the heart on Mantel you will find a cozy little guest house with a tropical flair. Although the accommodations are simple and basic, they are very clean and well kept by a friendly staff.They even have an efficiency unit. I great place to stay on Roanoke Island!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Shel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in Manteo, NC. We visited the area for a family wedding. When I found out about the destination and had never heard of Manteo, I starting researching for hotels in the area. There were not many to choose. But Island Guest House popped up and showed cottage rentals. When checking over the cottages I came upon the Little Lifeboat House. It meant something to us because my husband is a Coast Guard Veteran. Looking at the pictures it appeared to be a quaint little place. I made the reservations and hoped for the best. We checked in at the main building and were given directions to our cottage. Pulling up in front it was a cute little place. Upon entering the house it was absolutely adorable. Very cute and updated. There was a bath with a shower on the first floor and a bath on the second floor with a soaking tub. The bedroom was on the 2nd floor. Every room was immaculate. The were so many personal touches and mementoes about the Pea Island Life Station. Many interesting pictures and a few newspaper articles. There was a complimentary bottle of wine titled "The Little Lifeboat House. The place was perfect for our weekend getaway and destination wedding. The area had a few shops and restaurants but many more were located in Nags Head and beyond. I would definitely recommend the Little Lifeboat House for a getaway in Manteo, NC.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We stayed here about 6 years ago, and then again last weekend. We love this place and plan to visit again soon. This is a very nice place to stay while visiting the area. The prices are quite reasonable. No frills and accessibility may be a concern for some. But very clean and close to everything including lighthouses, restaurants, beaches, fishing, aquarium, museums, Wright Brothers Memorial, Jockey's Ridge and many tourist activities. Some rooms have kitchenettes, most have frig and microwave. Microwave and coffee in main house. The rooms are very comfortable and decorated in coastal themes. The staff is pleasant and willing to accommodate, if necessary.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews