We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Executive Suites & Hotel
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 27 September 2014

my original reason to book this room was the price as it turned out they could not pay me to stay here. I opened the door to a smell that was like mold/mildew from a flood, the walls were as dirty as the carpet and stained with what looked like snuff spit and what looked like feces. four steps into the room I could not breath. only there for 10 minutes but was still charged for a full night. will sleep in my car before going back. for any and all thinking about this hellhole BE AFRAID BE VERY AFRAID.

Room Tip: rooms not fit for man nor beast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2014

Here's the deal: Carlsbad is in the thrall of an oil boom. That means average hotels are ridiculously priced. So you find a cheap place, like Executive. There's a reason it's cheap.

Actually, there are several. Most of them are cleanliness related. First, a very nice Hindu man runs the place. He offered for us to see the room first and then decide if we want it (he may not give this option to everyone, but I'm over 6'2", 280lbs, and have a mohawk. It helps). Since this place was half of Motel 6, we said yes.

The nice Hindu man feeds birds. There were stacks of wild bird seed (hundreds of pounds). The entire roof is covered with pigeons. Some live inside the lobby/office. Not a joke. So it's not human feces that the place smells of (YAY!).

The parking lot/stairs are littered in a quaint fashion that I can only describe as "post-apocalyptic chic" or "Mardi Gras Leftovers." My wife tripped and stabbed her foot on an unwound wire clothes hanger. We genuinely feared that her tetnis shot was not recent enough. Other random detritus includes: cigarette butts, rib bones, brick shards, glass bits, newspaper/magazine shreds, plastic utensils, and more!

We are fairly certain that the sheets were not washed between guests. We are on a road trip that includes camping in National Parks, so we slept on the beds with our sleeping bags. There were no bed bugs or roaches in the room (pleasant surprise!); we checked quite carefully.

Room Tip: Make sure the door has the bolt for that "maybe we won't get murdered tonight" feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank deCyphar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

we stayed a grand total of 10 minutes before checking out. The room smelled of feces and there were dead roaches behind the dead. Literally look like the kind of hotel you see on the 10:00 news. Peeling paint and urine in stairway. We were stranded due to a storm but decided sleeping in our car would be better than putting our heads on their mattress. Literally the worst hotel we've ever seen!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JNRCinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The place looks quite rundown and dirty. It was relatively cheap, and now I can see the reason why: there are flies and insects all over the place, there are no ceiling lights in the room, the carpet doesn't look clean at all and neither does everything else to be honest. The walls are very thin and one can hear everything that happens in the rooms close by (literally everything!). We were told there would have been a wifi connection, but the signal is very poor and absolutely unstable.
Some of the hotel staff doesn't even speak English nor Spanish!
I would not recommend this place to anyone: you can find a better place to stay for the same price.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank odudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I thought I've stayed in bad hotels. This tops it. The price is dirt cheap and the room shows it. The service is rude and unfriendly.. If you want to stay in a dirt bad then I would go for it otherwise stay away!!

They have a pool but no water In it!!

There are bugs coming out of the sink!

The clean towels aren't even clean! Even they have stains toss the dang thing people!!! Come on! Towels aren't not that damn expensive!

A mop and some damn bleach is a part of the cleaning process!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oilfieldwife13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.4 km away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
4.5 km away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#8 of 22 in Carlsbad
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
224 reviews
4.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Carlsbad
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Suites & Hotel

Address: 601 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5551
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: RM241 - RM424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Executive Suites And Hotel
Marriott Execustay Carlsbad
Executive Hotel Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing