We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveller rating
978
144
37
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
144
37
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manhattan bridge rooftop bar chinatown area jonathan adler gold restaurant lower east side canal st new york city view minute walk east village amazing hotel the empire state building financial district every staff member complimentary breakfast perfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My partner and I were running the NY half marathon and decided to stay at Hotel 50 Bowery because it was the perfect distance between the start in Brooklyn and Penn station (where we'd end up catching our train back home). We stayed in the City View King (17th Floor), and had a beautiful view of the Bower and the wide stretch of the city (including the empire state building!).

Adam, the concierge, as well as Katelyn at the front desk were so very friendly and helpful, and they were so kind as to accommodate us with a late checkout - so we could come back and freshen up after the race.

As far as the area - there are a bunch of different restaurants around since you're in Chinatown but also very close to Little Italy (we were able to have some tasty pasta before our race!). Just a heads up, a few 7 elevens, but not too many standard convenience stores (Duane Reades, CVS, etc) very close by from what we saw.

The decor of the hotel and room is hip and modern, while still including little details inspired from the Chinatown area. Bed was very comfortable, and the shower was nice with a rain shower head and a handheld fixture as well. Everything was very clean and I had enough counter space to keep my things organized.

Just a side note: I'm a heavy sleeper, but if you aren't, I'd choose a room away from the elevators as not to be disturbed by the sounds late at night when people are coming in from a night out.

(Lastly, we didn't have the pleasure of going to the restaurant or the bar, but both looked beautiful!)

Thanks for a great stay, and I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend stay!

Room Tip: I'd choose a room away from the elevators as not to be disturbed by the sounds late at night when people are coming in from a night out.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdunnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Kim50, Sales Coordinator at Hotel 50 Bowery NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your honest review and for your kind words regarding Adam and Katelyn! We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience at Hotel 50 Bowery.

We hope you'll return and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

I loved everything about our hotel. It was clean, modern. Lovely toiletries. The staff here are truly friendly and helpful. The concierge gave us so amazing places to dine once we got there. We went to New York as a surprise visit for my husband (from Wisconsin). We are in our early 40’s. The place is great if wanting to stay in lower Manhattan. We would uber or take the subway to get to any of our locations. Subway was a short 5 minute walk. 15 minute ride to Times Square. We took a short walk into Chinatown to pick up some wine and bourbon. We ate at this amazing restaurant in walking distance called Tuxedo. Upscale Chinese food. So in love. We walked over to a few great places in Little Italy and even walked home with a pizza from Leonardo’s. Rooftop bar was awesome for a photo op. Even though it was winter it was so beautiful. Loved the Highline, Chelsea, Plaza for breakfast, bday dinner at Gallaghers, it was so amazing. This city doesn’t disappoint. I hope to be back really soon. Great hotel. You’ll love it! Thanks for the memories!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JessieMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Kim50, Sales Coordinator at Hotel 50 Bowery NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

JessieMilwaukee, thank you for your honest review and for your kind words! We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. We hope you come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

This boutique hotel has more spacious rooms than many other boutique hotels in the city.

It's a fun location for exploring LES and just a few blocks to the subway. There's so much to walk to from here and it's east access to Brooklyn too.

The rooftop bar and patio are Instagram worthy.

We loved the Jonathan Adler amenities and being able to text the concierge.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JRALEIGHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Kim50, Sales Coordinator at Hotel 50 Bowery NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

JRALEIGHW, thank you for your honest review and for your kind words! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel 50 Bowery. We hope you come and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

From the moment we checked in, I really enjoyed this beautiful property. The staff were very warm and welcoming. Comfortable bed, nice linens, fabulous views, and great places to eat a few blocks away. Easy access to the subway. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caligirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Kim50, Sales Coordinator at Hotel 50 Bowery NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Caligirl43, thank you for your honest review and for your kind words! We are so happy that you had such a great experience with us. We hope you return for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Typical small NYC hotel room. Decent design, friendly staff, no view. Convenient to Chinatown. Nothing exceptional, priced accordingly. Parking garage, was close( 50 feet way), but cost nearly as much as the room. Typical NYC.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Evolution26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughn D, Director of Front Office at Hotel 50 Bowery NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Ni Hao Evolution26,

Thank you for staying with us! We are sincerely sorry that we weren’t able to deliver a unique and memorable experience.

We strive to ensure that all guests leave with the Joie De Vivre (exuberant enjoyment of life). We hope that you will give us another chance at delivering greatness. Please contact me directly via email at vdavis@jdvhotels.com, it would be an honor to personally assist with your accommodations.

Dear future Joie De Vivre guests!

Please feel free to let us know if you aren’t happy with your accommodations. It would be our pleasure to meet your expectations and ensure that you leave with a new joy for life.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews