We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #237 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at Candlewood for 7 nights in December because our first hotel choice (Salisbury Hotel) was fully booked. Searching for hotels "with pantries" lead me to this hotel. When I saw the full kitchen on the web I just thought of the cash we would save from cooking our own full breakfast! The rates were fine considering the hotel doesn't have room service (unless you are staying more that 8 nights) nor a restaurant. Since we are not messy and are very conscious about saving water from daily laundry we decided to book the room and did not regret it at all! Knowing beforehand of the hotel's similarity to a time sharing room/apartment we did not get annoyed at the lack of daily maid service nor change of towels or bed sheets. We only asked for towels after 2 nights and plenty were delivered to last 3 more days! I was only annoyed that our garbage would pile up fast but I just pretended to be in an apartment where you leave it out the door and eventually someone passes by and removes it. I re-used the plastic bags from our shopping spree at grocery stores. Once the garbage bags were picked up daily I was happy with my full kitchen! The room wasn't "that" big but it was fine for the two of us and "we did" have space to hide the suitcases like the spot behind the reclining chair and the top of the closet. Water pressure was fine and so was the heater. We did not turn of the air conditioner at all and just slightly opened the window for a breeze of fresh air to come in. The room was cool all day and night. We did close the window at night because the noise from the street does reach up to the 32nd floor facing the front of the hotel! The front desk agents were polite and greeted whenever we re-entered the hotel lobby. I liked the free warm oatmeal cookies placed on the front desk during the evenings! That was cute and so was a little treat inside our microwave oven! The front desk agent was very acomodating as we requested (via email) an early check-in and a high floor (if possible) and it was granted as soon as the room was ready at noon! A hotel that goes out of it's way to do this is a winner! Everything else is forgiven! The location was excellent for restaurant hopping on 9th street and it's just a few steps from Time Square, Broadway and the metro station! On our next visit to the Big Apple "this" will be our first hotel choice from all the rest! Kudos to Monica Narvaez the Guest Services Supervisor for making our stay a great experience! She made a big difference!

Room Tip: Front of the building is noisy at night, but we liked the view from our 32nd floor window! We had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Greetings from NYC,

Thank you for such a wonderful and humbling review! I am thrilled to hear that not only were your expectations met but we were able to surpass them. Our entire staff strives to make each of our guest stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. If a special request is made in advance we go out of our way to accommodate the request to ensure our guest satisfaction. I am so happy you were able to enjoy the beautiful view of the city! Our freshly baked cookies and small popcorn treat left in the microwave is a special thank you for choosing our property to stay in while visiting the big city! On your next trip to NY please feel free to contact me in advance I would like to ensure your next trip is as memorable as your first. Thanks for your time and we look forward to your next arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 796 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Check in here was quick and easy with the desk person. We got to our room, and the television had no sound. Called front desk/within 5 minutes Miguel from maintenance came to the room. He told us about the connection and thaqt sometimes they get loosened by the cleaning staff. Simple and quick fix. Nice to have free coffee in the "food market." We had a room with a view of the Empire State Building, but asked for it on check in. Bed was very comfortable. We struggled with the cooling/heating unit. Never really got it to where we were comfortable. We just turned it off and on. All in all a nice place to stay and near most of the attractions and close to subway.
Fronty desk people were always helpful in directions. Great pub down the street, good food, good beer, and nice atmosphere. Kinda expensive for this Texan, but I found a lot in NY expensive. Planned for that though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrie5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Greetings from NYC!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on your most recent stay. I am happy to hear your check in process was efficient and quick! We pride ourselves in our staff and the level of service we provide to each of our guest. If there is a question or inquiry we don’t know the answer to we will go above and beyond to find one. I am happy to hear our staff was efficient and was able to resolve the TV issue promptly so you can sit back, relax and enjoy a show. Thanks for choosing our property to stay in. Until next time, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This clean and cheerfully-staffed hotel is located in the heart of Manhattan, within walking distance of many excellent attractions, theaters, restaurants, and shopping. The rooms are comfortably furnished and spacious by New York standards. Excellent value for the money. And the Airport Shuttle takes you straight to the door!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonJeanHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Hello and thank you for providing us your feedback. We are truly happy we were able to exceed your expectations on your most recent trip to the big city! Our location is great and our staff strives to make our guest stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks again for your time and for choosing us. We look forward to your next trip to the city…don’t forget to contact us in advance, we might just have a special surprised prepared for you! Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I believe these are three star but why would anyone need anything more? Great room with kitchenette - even a dishwasher which is probably a step too far. Wonderful comfy, firm bed. Very clean. Excellent en suite facilities. Brilliant central location. Would definitely recommend and will use again if I ever go back to NYC.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cathesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Greetings from the big city!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us, I am glad to hear the accommodations we offer were to you liking. It’s always important to have a comfortable bed to rest on after a long day of exploring! Our location is great and close to many fun activities and tourist destinations. Thanks again for choosing our property amongst many in the city to choose from and we certainly look forward to your next arrival. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I must say that the rooms available at the Candlewood were really very excellent. I stayed in a room with a view and the room was pleasant. However, the staff were really subpar. Which was really a surprise considering most of the reviews here on tripadvisor rave about the staff.
We had a frustrating check-in. This could have been brushed off. However, half way through my stay, my partner and I were absolutely appalled by a female staff member. We were riding the elevator up to our room with the staff standing in front of us. As she pressed the button on the elevator, she flashed her cellphone in our direction and we were absolutely disgusted to see her screen was filled with an "upskirt" shot of a woman. It was extremely hard to miss and extremely unprofessional.
The room was excellent, the amenities, the view, the location. But the staff were enough to make me run in the opposite direction. Would not recommend for any friends or family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Greetings from the Candlewood Suites family,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am extremely saddened to hear we were not able to exceed your expectations. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you might have encountered throughout your stay and would like an opportunity to discuss your experience further. Thanks again for taking the time to address your concerns with us and I hope to speak with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#289 of 469 in New York City
2,187 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#151 of 469 in New York City
5,765 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#302 of 469 in New York City
4,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#245 of 469 in New York City
2,478 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: RM536 - RM1,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing