We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real trip ”
Review of Bemelmans Bar

Bemelmans Bar
Ranked #84 of 16,016 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Out of another era. Somewhat overpriced by the drinks and food are top notch. The atmosphere steals the show. Worth it

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DavidWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

It's what you imagine "old" NYC was all about...loaded with charm and atomsphere. The bar and tables fill quickly so get there early if you want to sit. Drinks are on the expensive side, be prepared. A well healed crowd so dress the part!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank yellowjack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

A great cozy bar to go for a drink and see the murals on the walls by Ludwig Bemelmans of Madeleine and animals celebrating in Central Park. A New York landmark. One of the best sidecars I ever had.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank delospoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful ambience. Sat across from Angelica Houston. Many celeb sightings in this bar. Great service and delicious food. Does not disappoint.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We arrived at 6 pm on a Saturday night. Great atmosphere and quite crowded. We landed a great table next to the banquette so we could sit side-by-side on the upholstered cushion facing directly towards the piano. The service was excellent as was the glass of Cabernet and two gin gimlets. Beware it is pricey. That cost $75 without tip, but consider that the "cover charge." We enjoyed talking with couples next to us but the banter in the lounge was loud enough that it was difficult to hear the piano over the conversations. The piano essentially provided atmosphere, but not really music that could be enjoyed. I think next time we might opt to try the Carlyle room in the same hotel, and adjacent to Bemelman's and take in the the show and meal that is served there.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elliottq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bemelmans Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bemelmans Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing