We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Sienna
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$172
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$226
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$274
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sofitel New York(New York City)
US$414
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$290
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$100
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$134
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
93
44
16
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
44
16
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexpress trainceiling fansoul foodstudio apartmentlovely brownstoneharlem shakecommunal kitchenbrown stonenew yorkshared bathroomsingle roomsubway stationperfect place to stayaround the cornerhome away from homeevery morningbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous builiding located uptown manhattan. Surrounded by lots of shops and restaurants. A short walk from Sylvias Famous Soul food restaurant. One block away from the subway station. Complete independence when you stay here. Have your own key and can come and go as you please with no interference.
Fabulous host, gorgeous property, very reasonable, would stay again in a New York minute.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Rebelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at this place. It's really well located (5 min walk to the subway), the building is gorgeous and well looked after by the owner, the rooms are nice and clean and the owner is very helpful and friendly.

Would definitely recommend as a cheaper but still very pleasant place to stay in New York.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ljm539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Don't let the polarised reviews out you off from booking here. Yvette the host has very straight forward rules. You can tell upon meeting her that she is house proud, extremely clean and asks for nothing but respect of her property. Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for four nights and had an amazing time. Yvette gave us fantastic recommendations for food and drink. We woke up every morning to an extra American treat in the communal kitchen too which ended up being some of the best stuff we ate! She gave us specialised coffee, pumpkin bread, apple strudel and doughnuts, all free of charge! She wants you to have a great time and does everything to make sure you are comfortable.

The bedroom was a perfect size for two and the property is a gorgeous brown stone. A real authentic New York property. It's not flashy four star stuff. It's homely and the place smelt like Christmas the whole time! There's a kitchen with everything you need for snacks a simple cooking if wanted. The bathroom was spotless even though we shared with others (we were lucky to be on a floor with others who mopped after they showered!)

The subway is two blocks away and you can get the express A train to the centre in like five minutes.

We unfortunately didn't get to say goodbye to Yvette as we ended up having to leave quickly and that was the only sad part! A great host and a lovely stay. Just be respectful! If you are, she'll treat you like family.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Our stay here was faultless. Yvette is a fantastic host and she made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. Our room was very authentic and the house itself is full of charm and character- a real insight into how New Yorkers live. Each morning we awoke to new treats in the kitchen from Yvette- I had the best coffee here each morning- vanilla flavoured and accompanied by the best bread ever-Pumpkin bread. The little touches from Yvette really made our trip and we felt so comfortable here. Our room had a beautiful fire place and mantle piece with lots of room. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept like a log each night! The subway is only 2 blocks away with the A line being the express train into the main heart of NYC. Thank you so much for having us Yvette- you were extremely generous and gave us great recommendations for places to eat/go. If you plan on coming to NY- STAY HERE! Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Traveled from the UK to take part in the NYC marathon and stayed at La Sienna for 6 nights. Beautiful brown stone building full of character and what great host Yvette was , very welcoming and accommodating. Lots of good advise on travel and eating out. Great location, very comfortable room and bed. Very close to the subway and a short ride on the express train to midtown. Would stay there again in a flash, thanks

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carlwpedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews