We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #94 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison, New York
1 review
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stay @ a lot of hotels in NY and I had the best experience at this one. It has everything and more. The decor of the entire hotel is great in so many ways. The rooms were super clean and trendy. The beds are great. The customer service was unbelievable from the valet to the front desk to the housekeeping to the restaurant and lounges, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekneuer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,217
    677
    258
    120
    125
See reviews for
255
1,009
170
1,043
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel is CHIC, cool, new, and a great deal for New York City. Clean, modern, comfortible rooms. The beds are incredible! The friendliest staff I have met anywhere including five star hotels. Outdoor pool with glass floor over the lobby! Night club/ bar on the top floor with incredible views of the city.

Room Tip: Dont choose the floor below the night club. I have heard it gets noisy when the club opens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

awesome hotel! very cool decor and atmosphere, the place was like a club on fri/sat nights. excellent views and proximity to subway, high line, all of Manhattan

Check out photos from my stay here:

http://urbanarchitecturenow.blogspot.com/2012/03/dream-downtown-hotel-nyc.html

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snhaetnhlaonncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Dream Downtown hotel only opened in June 2011 I think & we booked in the July to go in the September 2011. We got a really good deal for the 5 nights - £1400 where other hotels in the meat packing district wanted £1600+. We booked with Jetsetter.

This hotel ticked the boxes for location - on the corner of 14th st & 10th ave, so great for the meat packing & Chelsea districts, great places to eat were within walking distance inc The Marble Lane restaurant & bar situated in the hotel lobby; the nearest subway stn was less than 5 mins walk with good connections to midtown & Hudson river locations. We were 5 mins walk from the start of the highline; The Standard Hotel, The Gaansvort Hotel & Chelsea Market. We were across the road from the fab Buddakan restaurant & less than 10 mins walk to Pastis & The Spice Market restaurants.

Our room was small but unless you have big bucks to spend on suites (which the hotel has along with a penthouse suite), most New York hotel rooms are small. The bed was was big & very comfortable, the shower room was big with a big fab shower & good products. There was closet space & a free safety deposit box within it. There was a cool mini bar which wasn't badly priced & the maid came round with ice every eve around 7pm which was just in time for us to make ourselves a drink before we hit the town! Good sized flat screen tv on the wall with loads of really good features....which we didn't use!

The hotel has a small but gorgeous outside pool surrounded by cool sun beds & a bar which serve a great Bloody Mary! The lobby downstairs is cool, funky & dimly lit whatever time of day. There is a fab rooftop bar which serve great cocktails to go with the amazing view of this beautiful city & there is also a fab club in the basement of the hotel, so after 9pm the hotel is a buzzing lively place & a cool hangout for the in-crowds! Beyonce was there 2 nights before we arrived with Jay-z to launch her new fragrance & the female cop from Blue Bloods was there one of the nights we were there.

It's a great hotel in a good spot!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 2 or above overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenCT5Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed here for one night with my girlfriend during the Christmas Holidays. We have both visited New York before and we made the hotel reservation at 6am on the day we were going to stay. We therefore only paid 50% for the room (excluding breakfast). We arrived in New York by train and took a taxi cab to the hotel. It is located in a good position on Manhattan because it is close to Chelsea, Greenwich Village and SoHo. The room was clean and funky with a chain-mail shower curtain and porthole style windows. The bed was large and comfortable. We took a stroll down to SoHo via Bleecker Street which is only 5 minutes from the hotel. There are many great bars in the area and restaurants to grab a bite to eat. We ate at a Dos Caminos, a Mexican restaurant that was packed out that night. When we returned from a busy day going from toy store to toy store and sight to sight, we were delighted to see a bottle of Prosecco on ice waiting for us and a card to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you Dream Downtown, I would have liked to use the heated outdoor pool that is located above the lobby and has a glass bottom. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#130 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#200 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#111 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#60 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#158 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#78 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): RM1,123 - RM2,309
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing