We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$248
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$175
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$121
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$139
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
41
49
20
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
49
20
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringmarks placestorage drawersastor placeunion squarenew yorkaround midnightyour doorstepmini kitchenminutes walk awaystayed for nightsthird floorstreet noisethree blocksbed was comfortablekey cardbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We had such a great time at EVH. When booking, I wanted a hotel type feel but an apartment/loft feel too at reasonable price - this is EVH. East Village is such a great neighbour - you're close to yummy eats with places like Davey's Ice Cream, Black Seed bagels around the corner. Also St. Marks Place is fun for drinks and eats! Metro is about 4 blocks away, and there's a bus directly outside the hotel that takes you straight to Magnolia Bakery:) The room was perfect for two of us. We had room #11 which was a corner unit up on the 3rd floor. I was warned about the "noise" but to be honest, we actually feel asleep to the city sounds and wouldn't want it any other way. It's not too loud at all so don't worry! You're in NYC, just enjoy the experience. The bed was also very, very comfortable. Only thing I would say is that the rooms could get a little touch up in paint (scuffs from furniture/luggage) and general tune up on broken items around the room (shampoo/conditioner holder in shower). Special Thanks to Hotel Manager, Leslie and Afrim for being so accommodating to us too!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eyewrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrim H, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you in the near future once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I loved staying here. There's a wee kitchenette. Food & coffee at your doorstep and actual spiral staircase that reminded me of the old style Victorian homes back in Sydney, Australia.

The bathrooms were neat and tidy, the room & bed comfortable & the ability to have food delivered after breaking your foot was amazing since the thought of walking down all those stairs brought me to tears. But I couldn't have wanted a better hotel to rest in before flying out.

I will definitely be staying here again when I'm in New York. Thanks for such a nice visit!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenlyFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie T, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Morning GreenlyFaerie,

Thank you so much for staying with us! Our humble hotel is a walk-up so we do apologize if the stairs caused any trouble on your healing foot! We try our best to insure comfort for all of our guests and we certainly allow food deliveries upstairs to deliver at your doorstep! We wouldn't want you going up and down and we would gladfully help in anything you may need to avoid those steps! We hope you visit us very soon on your next visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I was a little concerned after reading the reviews but very happy once I arrived.
If you are a low maintenance, independent traveler this is a great place to stay in the heart of the East Village.
Stayed for 9 nights - room was always clean with new towels, only noticed 'new york' noise on 1 night, excellent wifi. Room has everything you could need - bed, rack to hang clothes, large under bed storage drawers, tv, iron, kitchen etc.
Close to lots of interesting restaurants, short walk to subway, close to a park, walkable distance to West Village, Union Square, Flatiron.
Extremely good value for a room that is decent sized (for New York standards) in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cajperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie T, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Morning Cajperth,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! You have definitely highlighted some of the reasons why we love our humble hotel here in the heart of the East Village! We do strive to assure everyone is as comfortable as possible during their stay. We hope to see you in the near future once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I found this to be the perfect self catering option for a solo traveler, close to all the action NYC has to offer. It's about three blocks to Astor Place subway station, and about two blocks to Ave 1, which connects to the A, C and E lines for access to JFK or Penn Station.

As others have mentioned, it's not really a hotel, more studio apartments. Pretty spacious for NYC and would comfortably accommodate a couple though there isn't really anywhere to sit except the bed. It's not like anyone goes to NYC to sit in their hotel room though...

Kitchenette was brilliant and especially appreciated it for breakfast, since this can add quite a lot to expenses and is sometimes a bit of an inconvenience when travelling. Very nice to eat cereal in my PJs if I felt like it! I also made my own lunch most days (stock up at Trader Joe's at Union Square and smaller supermarkets nearby). Probably not an ideal setup for eating dinner in the room, but perfect otherwise. Plenty of good restaurants in the neighborhood and I recommend the hole in the wall coffee joint three minutes walk away on East 7th street (Abraco).

Be prepared to walk up the stairs with your luggage. I had no trouble with noise (on the third floor) though the earplugs in the room suggest others might have.

There is a laundromat across the road on 1st Ave, and despite this not being a "hotel-y hotel", they will store your luggage for you after checkout, which was much appreciated since my flight out wasn't until the evening.

Recommended.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank BSlatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie T, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Morning BSlatts,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! You have highlighted so many benefits we offer here in our humble hotel! I especially love Abraco and I recommend many of our guests there for a nice cup of coffee! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we do hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

No check in till 15.00.

No elevator.

No luggage rack in or available for room.

No phone to reception.

Room, with kitchenette is 'compact'.

No wardrobe or shelves for clothing.

Bathroom is tiny, one short rail carries all the towels.

Nowhere to hang them to dry. Hook on back of door broken.

No shelf for personal items, no shaving/makeup mirror.

Shower only, nowhere to place gel/shampoo. Basket broken/missing.

No quiet. Although triple glazed the sirens hooting on First Avenue are alarmingly loud which explains the provision of earplugs!

No value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie T, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Morning Gazinho,

I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our rooms do come supplied with luggage racks and we do have some spares at the reception. As for the check-in, our time to check-in is at 3:00 PM which is standard for most hotels here in New York. We try our best to have some rooms ready beforehand but we cannot guarantee the same. I have taken down notes on your review and I will be working on these points to improve our hotel here. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another try on your next stay in New York. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews