We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely will be back!”
Review of East Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Village Hotel
Ranked #21 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The room was perfect for what I needed, clean and updated. Instead of a key card you have a pin for your door which I thought was cool. It is within walking distance of most things like Webster Hall or Empire state Building. The staff were very helpful and kind. Overall experience 10/10!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

This place is trendy and unique. Very easy to deal with. Ask for a room in the corner with double street aspect. The one's with a kitchenette are perfect for longer stays. There is a coffee shop below which is not Starbucks! Nearby is a subway stop, High Line and Stonewall. Rooms have excellent A/C and comfy beds - clean and fresh national. Double glazing so noise was not an issue for us. A great little laundrette a few shops down with a cheap drop-off wash & fold service. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jasonjI8565PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrim H, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the East Village Hotel. We truly love all the great points you made about our establishment. We try our best to make sure all of our guests are as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for choosing the East Village Hotel for your recent visit - we hope to welcome you back again soon!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We had such a great time at EVH. When booking, I wanted a hotel type feel but an apartment/loft feel too at reasonable price - this is EVH. East Village is such a great neighbour - you're close to yummy eats with places like Davey's Ice Cream, Black Seed bagels around the corner. Also St. Marks Place is fun for drinks and eats! Metro is about 4 blocks away, and there's a bus directly outside the hotel that takes you straight to Magnolia Bakery:) The room was perfect for two of us. We had room #11 which was a corner unit up on the 3rd floor. I was warned about the "noise" but to be honest, we actually feel asleep to the city sounds and wouldn't want it any other way. It's not too loud at all so don't worry! You're in NYC, just enjoy the experience. The bed was also very, very comfortable. Only thing I would say is that the rooms could get a little touch up in paint (scuffs from furniture/luggage) and general tune up on broken items around the room (shampoo/conditioner holder in shower). Special Thanks to Hotel Manager, Leslie and Afrim for being so accommodating to us too!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eyewrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrim H, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you in the near future once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I loved staying here. There's a wee kitchenette. Food & coffee at your doorstep and actual spiral staircase that reminded me of the old style Victorian homes back in Sydney, Australia.

The bathrooms were neat and tidy, the room & bed comfortable & the ability to have food delivered after breaking your foot was amazing since the thought of walking down all those stairs brought me to tears. But I couldn't have wanted a better hotel to rest in before flying out.

I will definitely be staying here again when I'm in New York. Thanks for such a nice visit!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenlyFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie T, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Morning GreenlyFaerie,

Thank you so much for staying with us! Our humble hotel is a walk-up so we do apologize if the stairs caused any trouble on your healing foot! We try our best to insure comfort for all of our guests and we certainly allow food deliveries upstairs to deliver at your doorstep! We wouldn't want you going up and down and we would gladfully help in anything you may need to avoid those steps! We hope you visit us very soon on your next visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I was a little concerned after reading the reviews but very happy once I arrived.
If you are a low maintenance, independent traveler this is a great place to stay in the heart of the East Village.
Stayed for 9 nights - room was always clean with new towels, only noticed 'new york' noise on 1 night, excellent wifi. Room has everything you could need - bed, rack to hang clothes, large under bed storage drawers, tv, iron, kitchen etc.
Close to lots of interesting restaurants, short walk to subway, close to a park, walkable distance to West Village, Union Square, Flatiron.
Extremely good value for a room that is decent sized (for New York standards) in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cajperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie T, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Morning Cajperth,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! You have definitely highlighted some of the reasons why we love our humble hotel here in the heart of the East Village! We do strive to assure everyone is as comfortable as possible during their stay. We hope to see you in the near future once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#194 of 469 in New York City
717 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#379 of 469 in New York City
58 reviews
The Ridge Hotel
#354 of 469 in New York City
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Incentra Village Hotel
Incentra Village Hotel
#14 of 79 in New York City
156 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#29 of 79 in New York City
587 reviews
Financial District
RIFF Downtown
RIFF Downtown
#57 of 79 in New York City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Hotel

Address: 147 1st Ave, Entrance on 9th St, New York City, NY 10003-2906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the East Village a fun walk to St. Marks on the corner of E 9th St. and 1st Avenue, a cultural hub of the city. We are a small hotel with full-featured rooms that include built-in kitchens (stove top, dishwasher and fridge) and 42" TVs with on-site laundry. There is a park nearby to relax in with an boutique coffee shop, "The Bean," right below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your East Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing