We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of East Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Village Hotel
Ranked #22 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived to the hotel and we had to head out so we didn't really check the room out. Bad mistake.

We came home from party. The hotel room smelled like someone died in there. We asked to change room and that was okay.

Next room has fluid stains on bed sheets and mattress as well as roaches in the bathroom.

We just left. Outside we met the receptionist and she didn't even lift an eyebrow that we where leaving the hotel.

Our recommendation - Stay away

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kal J, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017


Dear Leif,

We are sorry you had a bad experience.
With that said we are 100% confident in our staff and if something was missed in our post-cleaning room inspection prior to your arrival i.e. "the smell of death", then we will take full blame.
We inspected that room before and after and even though we didn't detect any fluid stains or smells we will just have to take your word for it and again are very sorry.
We will admit that a few roaches do get in but we have weekly pest control in the hotel.
Being a very old New York building, sometimes they literally slip through the cracks.
Lastly I apologize for our receptionist but she was confused and didn't know what you intentions were as you chose to leave quietly until this message was received.
We wish you the best in your continued stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The room was perfect for what I needed, clean and updated. Instead of a key card you have a pin for your door which I thought was cool. It is within walking distance of most things like Webster Hall or Empire state Building. The staff were very helpful and kind. Overall experience 10/10!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

This place is trendy and unique. Very easy to deal with. Ask for a room in the corner with double street aspect. The one's with a kitchenette are perfect for longer stays. There is a coffee shop below which is not Starbucks! Nearby is a subway stop, High Line and Stonewall. Rooms have excellent A/C and comfy beds - clean and fresh national. Double glazing so noise was not an issue for us. A great little laundrette a few shops down with a cheap drop-off wash & fold service. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jasonjI8565PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrim H, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the East Village Hotel. We truly love all the great points you made about our establishment. We try our best to make sure all of our guests are as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for choosing the East Village Hotel for your recent visit - we hope to welcome you back again soon!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We had such a great time at EVH. When booking, I wanted a hotel type feel but an apartment/loft feel too at reasonable price - this is EVH. East Village is such a great neighbour - you're close to yummy eats with places like Davey's Ice Cream, Black Seed bagels around the corner. Also St. Marks Place is fun for drinks and eats! Metro is about 4 blocks away, and there's a bus directly outside the hotel that takes you straight to Magnolia Bakery:) The room was perfect for two of us. We had room #11 which was a corner unit up on the 3rd floor. I was warned about the "noise" but to be honest, we actually feel asleep to the city sounds and wouldn't want it any other way. It's not too loud at all so don't worry! You're in NYC, just enjoy the experience. The bed was also very, very comfortable. Only thing I would say is that the rooms could get a little touch up in paint (scuffs from furniture/luggage) and general tune up on broken items around the room (shampoo/conditioner holder in shower). Special Thanks to Hotel Manager, Leslie and Afrim for being so accommodating to us too!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eyewrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrim H, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you in the near future once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I loved staying here. There's a wee kitchenette. Food & coffee at your doorstep and actual spiral staircase that reminded me of the old style Victorian homes back in Sydney, Australia.

The bathrooms were neat and tidy, the room & bed comfortable & the ability to have food delivered after breaking your foot was amazing since the thought of walking down all those stairs brought me to tears. But I couldn't have wanted a better hotel to rest in before flying out.

I will definitely be staying here again when I'm in New York. Thanks for such a nice visit!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenlyFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie T, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good Morning GreenlyFaerie,

Thank you so much for staying with us! Our humble hotel is a walk-up so we do apologize if the stairs caused any trouble on your healing foot! We try our best to insure comfort for all of our guests and we certainly allow food deliveries upstairs to deliver at your doorstep! We wouldn't want you going up and down and we would gladfully help in anything you may need to avoid those steps! We hope you visit us very soon on your next visit to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#193 of 469 in New York City
716 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#380 of 469 in New York City
58 reviews
The Ridge Hotel
#353 of 469 in New York City
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Incentra Village Hotel
Incentra Village Hotel
#14 of 79 in New York City
156 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#28 of 79 in New York City
587 reviews
Financial District
RIFF Downtown
RIFF Downtown
#57 of 79 in New York City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Hotel

Address: 147 1st Ave, Entrance on 9th St, New York City, NY 10003-2906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: RM640 - RM1,293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the East Village a fun walk to St. Marks on the corner of E 9th St. and 1st Avenue, a cultural hub of the city. We are a small hotel with full-featured rooms that include built-in kitchens (stove top, dishwasher and fridge) and 42" TVs with on-site laundry. There is a park nearby to relax in with an boutique coffee shop, "The Bean," right below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your East Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing