We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of East Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Village Hotel
Ranked #22 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Very good location in the hearth of East Village. Near of all. Subway, shops, markets, a lot of amazing bars. The rooms are little but with kitchen, fridge, microwave, air condition. The windows are very good insulated, we dont heard the noise of the street,

Room Tip: Its easy to get the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jorge I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kal J, Front Office Manager at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us, Jorge.
We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

As we arrived after reception hours (11pm) we were given the codes to the main door and our room the day before which all went smoothly. We were on the third floor and we didn't find the traffic outside much of a problem. The rooms could do with a few touch-ups but the bed was comfortable, air-con worked well (albeit a little loud) and the location is amazing! Minutes walk from all the bars and restaurants of East Village and a spot of shopping around Union Square. There's a coffee shop beneath the hotel that's open late (around midnight I think) and the original Coyote Ugly is 2 doors down which was a fun night out! The staff could have been more welcoming - one of the receptionists didn't batter an eyelid most of the time which felt a bit awkward but other than that, it was a pleasant stay and we were able to leave our luggage on check-out with no extra charge.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ac2490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived to the hotel and we had to head out so we didn't really check the room out. Bad mistake.

We came home from party. The hotel room smelled like someone died in there. We asked to change room and that was okay.

Next room has fluid stains on bed sheets and mattress as well as roaches in the bathroom.

We just left. Outside we met the receptionist and she didn't even lift an eyebrow that we where leaving the hotel.

Our recommendation - Stay away

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kal J, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017


Dear Leif,

We are sorry you had a bad experience.
With that said we are 100% confident in our staff and if something was missed in our post-cleaning room inspection prior to your arrival i.e. "the smell of death", then we will take full blame.
We inspected that room before and after and even though we didn't detect any fluid stains or smells we will just have to take your word for it and again are very sorry.
We will admit that a few roaches do get in but we have weekly pest control in the hotel.
Being a very old New York building, sometimes they literally slip through the cracks.
Lastly I apologize for our receptionist but she was confused and didn't know what you intentions were as you chose to leave quietly until this message was received.
We wish you the best in your continued stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The room was perfect for what I needed, clean and updated. Instead of a key card you have a pin for your door which I thought was cool. It is within walking distance of most things like Webster Hall or Empire state Building. The staff were very helpful and kind. Overall experience 10/10!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

This place is trendy and unique. Very easy to deal with. Ask for a room in the corner with double street aspect. The one's with a kitchenette are perfect for longer stays. There is a coffee shop below which is not Starbucks! Nearby is a subway stop, High Line and Stonewall. Rooms have excellent A/C and comfy beds - clean and fresh national. Double glazing so noise was not an issue for us. A great little laundrette a few shops down with a cheap drop-off wash & fold service. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jasonjI8565PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrim H, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the East Village Hotel. We truly love all the great points you made about our establishment. We try our best to make sure all of our guests are as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for choosing the East Village Hotel for your recent visit - we hope to welcome you back again soon!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#191 of 469 in New York City
716 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#379 of 469 in New York City
58 reviews
The Ridge Hotel
#353 of 469 in New York City
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Incentra Village Hotel
Incentra Village Hotel
#14 of 79 in New York City
156 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#30 of 79 in New York City
587 reviews
Financial District
RIFF Downtown
RIFF Downtown
#57 of 79 in New York City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Hotel

Address: 147 1st Ave, Entrance on 9th St, New York City, NY 10003-2906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: RM658 - RM1,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the East Village a fun walk to St. Marks on the corner of E 9th St. and 1st Avenue, a cultural hub of the city. We are a small hotel with full-featured rooms that include built-in kitchens (stove top, dishwasher and fridge) and 42" TVs with on-site laundry. There is a park nearby to relax in with an boutique coffee shop, "The Bean," right below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your East Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing