We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$235
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 04/08
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$146
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$204
US$177
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$199
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$420
US$370
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
41
49
20
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
49
20
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringmarks placestorage drawersastor placeunion squarenew yorkaround midnightyour doorstepmini kitchenminutes walk awaystayed for nightsthird floorstreet noisethree blocksbed was comfortablekey cardbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

As we arrived after reception hours (11pm) we were given the codes to the main door and our room the day before which all went smoothly. We were on the third floor and we didn't find the traffic outside much of a problem. The rooms could do with a few touch-ups but the bed was comfortable, air-con worked well (albeit a little loud) and the location is amazing! Minutes walk from all the bars and restaurants of East Village and a spot of shopping around Union Square. There's a coffee shop beneath the hotel that's open late (around midnight I think) and the original Coyote Ugly is 2 doors down which was a fun night out! The staff could have been more welcoming - one of the receptionists didn't batter an eyelid most of the time which felt a bit awkward but other than that, it was a pleasant stay and we were able to leave our luggage on check-out with no extra charge.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ac2490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived to the hotel and we had to head out so we didn't really check the room out. Bad mistake.

We came home from party. The hotel room smelled like someone died in there. We asked to change room and that was okay.

Next room has fluid stains on bed sheets and mattress as well as roaches in the bathroom.

We just left. Outside we met the receptionist and she didn't even lift an eyebrow that we where leaving the hotel.

Our recommendation - Stay away

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kal J, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017


Dear Leif,

We are sorry you had a bad experience.
With that said we are 100% confident in our staff and if something was missed in our post-cleaning room inspection prior to your arrival i.e. "the smell of death", then we will take full blame.
We inspected that room before and after and even though we didn't detect any fluid stains or smells we will just have to take your word for it and again are very sorry.
We will admit that a few roaches do get in but we have weekly pest control in the hotel.
Being a very old New York building, sometimes they literally slip through the cracks.
Lastly I apologize for our receptionist but she was confused and didn't know what you intentions were as you chose to leave quietly until this message was received.
We wish you the best in your continued stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The room was perfect for what I needed, clean and updated. Instead of a key card you have a pin for your door which I thought was cool. It is within walking distance of most things like Webster Hall or Empire state Building. The staff were very helpful and kind. Overall experience 10/10!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

This place is trendy and unique. Very easy to deal with. Ask for a room in the corner with double street aspect. The one's with a kitchenette are perfect for longer stays. There is a coffee shop below which is not Starbucks! Nearby is a subway stop, High Line and Stonewall. Rooms have excellent A/C and comfy beds - clean and fresh national. Double glazing so noise was not an issue for us. A great little laundrette a few shops down with a cheap drop-off wash & fold service. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jasonjI8565PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrim H, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the East Village Hotel. We truly love all the great points you made about our establishment. We try our best to make sure all of our guests are as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for choosing the East Village Hotel for your recent visit - we hope to welcome you back again soon!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We had such a great time at EVH. When booking, I wanted a hotel type feel but an apartment/loft feel too at reasonable price - this is EVH. East Village is such a great neighbour - you're close to yummy eats with places like Davey's Ice Cream, Black Seed bagels around the corner. Also St. Marks Place is fun for drinks and eats! Metro is about 4 blocks away, and there's a bus directly outside the hotel that takes you straight to Magnolia Bakery:) The room was perfect for two of us. We had room #11 which was a corner unit up on the 3rd floor. I was warned about the "noise" but to be honest, we actually feel asleep to the city sounds and wouldn't want it any other way. It's not too loud at all so don't worry! You're in NYC, just enjoy the experience. The bed was also very, very comfortable. Only thing I would say is that the rooms could get a little touch up in paint (scuffs from furniture/luggage) and general tune up on broken items around the room (shampoo/conditioner holder in shower). Special Thanks to Hotel Manager, Leslie and Afrim for being so accommodating to us too!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eyewrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afrim H, Supervisor at East Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you in the near future once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews