We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$133
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$245
US$190
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Evelyn(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$290
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$235
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,648)
Filter reviews
4,648 results
Traveller rating
3,441
879
232
66
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,441
879
232
66
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparker quinnbryant parkhat factorythe empire state buildingcupcakesnew yorkmagnolia bakerygreat hotellive jazzhardwood floorsboutique hotelfashion districthotel gueststimes squaregreat boutiquecomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 4,648 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Great location, great property with very nice staff. Only complaint is the rooftop hostess pushes you out of seats (nicely) even though you are a guest. Recommend from family or business. Close to major mid town corporations and shopping. Walking distance to broadway shows. 2 blocks do subway access at Bryant Park.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank ronereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post ronereed, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We returned from NYC this week after spending 6 nights at The Refinery Hotel, and it was simply amazing.

Our room was upgraded on arrival, but even without that, there were many simple touches which made this stay perfect.

The rooms are very spacious for NYC, the high ceilings give a fantastic sense of space, and the furnishings are quirky and fun. The beds were extremely comfortable, as were the sofa and chairs.

The bathroom was also very spacious, and the White Company toiletries provided were a nice touch, as were the robes and slippers provided.

As we were staying for 6 nights we were offered a coffee machine for the room, which was really nice to be able to have a coffee before leaving the room, however there was free coffee available every morning in reception for the guests.

The food and bar facilities in the hotel were excellent. Parker & Quinn, the main restaurant, was quirky and cosy, with great food and cocktail choices. We ate here several times, and were not disappointed. The Rooftop provides fantastic views of The Empire State Building, and a smaller selection of food, but in equally awesome surroundings. Finally, there in Winnie's Bar in the reception area, where there is nightly jazz and a similar selection small plates and bar snacks to the Rooftop.

The hotel is situated in the perfect location in midtown to allow east access to the rest of Manhattan and beyond. There are multiple Subway stations within walking distance, and Penn Station and Grand Central Terminal are only a slightly longer walk away.

The whole hotel is kept very clean and tidy, there are some really quirky art pieces in the public areas, but the biggest asset of all are the staff. A special mention has to go to Amanda, who went out of her way to ensure we had the best stay, but all of the staff were excellent, from the guys on the doors to the bus boys, all were charming and polite.

We have travelled to NYC from the UK 5 times now, and have never stayed in the same hotel twice, however, I think we have found our NYC base, and will definitely return to The Refinery on our next visit to The Big Apple..

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Claire G, Wow What a wonderfully detailed and descriptive account of your stay with us at Refinery. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such positive feedback to us and other potential guests. We're glad to hear you appreciated all of the little details from the very spacious room accommodations, to the all of the wonderful room amenities that make us truly unique. We know that little touches can add to big memories, and we will be awaiting your return for another "Simply Amazing Stay".
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Planned a Spring Break getaway for the family last week and decided to try the Refinery based on a family member's recommendation. Boy am I glad I took his advice! The hotel is beautiful, the staff super welcoming and the rooms amazing, super comfortable and stylish. We had a great time and definitely be back! Be sure to find some time to relax at the Rooftop bar - it is an essential part of the visit! The hotel is so conveniently located and we could not have been happier!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMPSeesTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

AMPSeesTheWorld, I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Refinery! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with such an excellent review and we thank you for praising our staff and stylish design. I hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The hotel itself has a very cool vibe; the hotel lobby , the jazz bar downstairs, the restaurant and the rooftop - all cool, chill, hip and GOOD! The room sizes are great for NYC. My kids had a connecting room and had THE BEST time. The beds are SO comfortable! We slept better than we do at home! we had 3 rooms during our stay; my parent were with us as well and loved The Refinery as much as we did.
Amanda at the front desk was just amazing. We love her! She was so nice, so accommodating, so sweet to the kids. Our room wasn't ready when we got there and we honestly were ok with it because the hotel is so nice to hang out in but Amanda made sure the kids were comfortable, offered us drinks AND breakfast for the stay. She was definitely a big part of the reason our stat was so enjoyable. Amanda if you are reading this thank you again!!
We've stayed at the Refinery twice - once just a couples getaway and once with the kids and both times were equally wonderful.
I also need to mention the very cool guys at the entrance of the hotel who helped us with our arrival and departure. Lamar was so helpful as were the other 2 gentlemen who were there - I did not catch their names but they were so helpful and so nice. We were there March 20th to the 24th so shout out to everyone working there that week!
I can't recommend the hotel enough.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have direct views of the empire state building. very cool
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Candice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Candice T,

I was thrilled to read you and your family chose Refinery for your NYC getaway. Your kind words and review of the property mean the world to us and we are fortunate that we made your time with us as special as you shared. Personalizing experiences is what we are all about, so I am overjoyed to read our team, Amanda in particular succeeded in making it an unforgettable bash for you and the family.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful Refinery experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The Refinery Hotel was like a breath of fresh air after a long day of exploring New York City. I was tired and bit grumpy as I checked in around 4pm on a Thursday afternoon, but Johanka at the front desk went above and beyond to help me. My friend and I booked the hotel last minute and forgot to specify that we wanted a double, Johanka not only gave us a double room but upgraded us to the biggest and nicest double they had. I only asked her if they had any doubles available but she took it upon herself to upgrade us. She also offered me a complimentary glass of wine, walked me to the elevator and showed me how to use my key card. That's excellent service right there.

The room itself was huge! It felt like an apartment with huge windows (we got a corner room) and very nicely decorated. The beds were plush and the mini bar was well stocked. (Pre-game with the 375ml bottle of Hudson Baby Bourbon Whiskey - $65, if you want to save some money at the Rooftop Bar later, cocktails there run about $16 a pop ;)) There were a lot of neat design details that made the room and hotel feel incredible special and boutique-y.

We met up with a few friends at the hotel's rooftop bar later that night and had a great time under the stars. The cocktails were delicious, and the food was pretty good. Prices are a bit steep, but nothing out of the ordinary for a nice hotel in Manhattan.

Check out was a breeze, and the bell hops were really on top of their game. Before I had even stepped out of the elevator there was someone there to help me with my luggage. Excellent service and vibes at the Refinery Hotel all around. Thank you for making my short stay such a pleasant one. :)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric_Refinery, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Trami T,

Thank you so much for your amazing review of Refinery Hotel and I extremely happy to read that Johanka was able to make your arrival experience one to remember. She truly is a superstar who takes great pride in delivering extraordinary service to all of our guests and i am excited to share this review with her.. We do look forward to welcoming you back for another visit. Wishing you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews