We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #324 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 June 2015

It was a busy weekend in the City and lots of guests but the hotel staff were gracious and reasonably efficient. Rooms were clean. Hard to call the concierge on Saturday night because the line in the lobby was so long. Also, started out with 3 towels but ended up with 2 after housekeeping. Could have used one more! Access to the Executive Lounge was a good freebie; so nice to have a quick, small coffee or soda for a break. Charge for Wi-Fi seems high. Good location. Room seemed quiet despite traffic, etc. outside.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,307 - 3,311 of 10,563 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2015

We are Diamond Club members and after reading some of the reviews below like minded guests have voiced the same concerns.
Good central location and there it stops. No fridge or kettle, room door left unlocked by the maid, wardrobe door off hinge and not fixed when reported it 3 days ago.
The Executive lounge is a disaster. Problem is they are selling as many packages to non members for around $40 for access and they flood in. Drinks need a card swipe and are charged at retail, food substandard but plates piled high for those wanting their moneys worth. Coffee, tea etc from a vending machine that is hard to operate. Service through the hotel zilch and never saw a smile on any staff face.
I am surprised that they are allowed a Hilton Franchise as it gives the chain a bad name.
Not impressed at all.

Room Tip: Dont go off Hilton chain but avoid this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHiltonMidtown, Director of Marketing at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Jane B,

We appreciate your review and thank you for being a Diamond Member with Hhonors. Our guests comfort and care are our top priorities and we apologize you did not experience this. We are working to improve the Executive Lounge experience so guests truly feel the delightful benefit of this area.
We’ve passed your feedback to the appropriate team leaders.

We hope you will give us a second chance to prove our Hilton standards. We wish every guest is welcomed with a smile and leaves with one of their face.


NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We chose this hotel for its location and its name "Hilton". The location was as expected and the name was certainly "Hilton" but it was not the standard that I normally associate with this chain. The reception staff were friendly and efficient, although one of our party was sent to a room that was not ready. The bar area was clean and friendly, but I have to say it was expensive, even for NY standards. The room was a bit compact, not the normal luxury expected in USA, Hilton's in particular. And no coffee maker in the room!! A real let down. But the location made up for the minor faults I guess, and I would consider staying here again. One more complaint -- no free WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie C, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

Dear Pete R,

Thank you for your review. We are concerned that your recent stay failed to meet your standards and ours. Though we generally met your needs, we are sorry to hear of the number of small issues that were overall disappointing. We will be sure to make note of your thoughts so that we can continue to improve the guest experience. If there is anything in particular we can do to make your next stay better, please do not hesitate to let us know. We are here to serve you.

Thank You,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

There is always a problem at the NY Hilton. This time it was an inoperable elevator that made the wait time fro floors 24-34 very long and impossible at times to get on an elevator on the way down from the 25th floor. The room was recently remodeled, the bathtub was clearly not-it was filthy. Last time it was non functioning AC in the room, the time before, a water leak from the room above. The folks at Hilton take no pride in this property, staff is indifferent. Overall, I do not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHiltonMidtown, Director of Marketing at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Jay S

Thank you for your review and letting us know of your recent experience. We always wish our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and we’re disappointed to hear that was not the case for you. We are working on ways to improve our elevator experience for guests as we are aware this can be an unpleasant wait. As for the bathroom cleanliness, this is not up to our housekeeping standards and we have passed this along to the team.

We strive to shine light and warmth into every guest visit. We hope you will give us another chance to make it right.

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Nice room. Had issues with A/C not working properly which required calls twice in two days but the issue was addressed each time. Food and lounge prices are quite high. $17+ for a single adult beverage.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 469 in New York City
4,449 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 469 in New York City
6,993 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 469 in New York City
4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#335 of 469 in New York City
4,964 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#217 of 469 in New York City
4,717 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: RM803 - RM2,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing