We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #328 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 January 2007

We stayed at the Hilton from Dec. 26-29 and had a pleasant stay. There was no line at check-in at 1:30pm and got a room right away which was decorated nicely and kept clean and furnished with fresh linens. Had a great view of the city from the 35th floor. The staff were friendly and professional. Our room did not have a TV remote, and one was delivered to our room within five minutes. We asked for a rollaway and it was waiting in the room for us. I do agree with the other reviewers regarding breakfast in the Executive Lounge--we gave up the first morning but the line moved quickly the next two mornings. Great selection of food. The hotel was very busy (as were the elevators!) but overall, could not fault the Hilton for anything. When we arrived at the airport for our trip home, my husband discovered he left his expensive boots in the room. It was a little frustrating when calling the hotel for help--he called three times. We decided to wait until Tuesday, after New Year's, to try again as we know how busy the hotel was. The boots came in today's mail so were quite pleased about that! I recommend Hilton New York to anyone. It is a very large hotel but we only slept there! There's too much to do in New York City to spend much time at the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,250 - 8,254 of 10,614 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2007

My 9 year old daughter and I stayed here for a mother/daughter weekend from Jan 5-7th. I wanted a hotel within walking distance to many different sights and activities. We were not dissapointed! We were able to walk to times square, theater district, rockafeller center, the American Girl Store, 5th Avenue, Central Park, FAO Schwarz, etc..... It was a PERFECT location.
The hotel was clean, the people were friendly, the staff helpful. I have really only two complaints.
One, room service was VERY expensive. Now, I know this is New York - so what do I expect? I don't know. But I paid $50.00 for my daughter and I to get dessert via room service. The hotel charges a $9.00 room service fee to deliver the food - and then I was reminded by the waiter that gratuity is NOT included in that $9.00. So, I gave a tip too, so by the end - I paid $16.00 more just to get room service. Next time, I'll walk down to the restaurant or get ice cream to go at one of the many restaurants nearby.
Second complaint - the breakfast buffet. My entire meal was cold and I could not get the waitress to bring our check to save my life. It was frustrating. But, I also will admit that it very well could have been simply an "off" morning for both the waitress and the restaurant.
Our trip was fabulous, however, and I would most certainly stay here again. The location could not be beat. We also booked via priceline and we received a rate of $150.00 per night, which for the quality and location, could not be beat.
On a side note, my daughter and I went to see "Hairspray" at the Neil Simon theater, and to say it was FABULOUS would not be giving it enough credit. Best show I"ve ever seen, hands down - and I've been to many broadway and off broadway shows. If you get a chance, GO. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jlpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2007

We went to the Hilton for New Year's Eve. We booked via American Express and were disappointed. The hotel has been refurbished but apparently not all rooms. We had a King bed Deluxe room which was very nice. Natural colors, flat screen, excellent beds and sheets. The problem of this hotel is the hotel itself : we asked for a king bed and we had twin beds, the hotel was fully booked we couldn't move. We made a request 3 months ago for a corner room, of course we didn't get it. We asked for a plug adaptor (as we are french) but the Hilton does not have adaptors for their clients. You have to buy one and the shop of the hotel had no stock left. No service, when you ask for something you better do it by yourself. Too many people, you have to queue to take the elevators. The reception is more busy than Grand Central Station at pick time. Cleaness is moderate in the room, very poor in the hotel. There was a small bottle of ketchup and jam in the corridor which stained the wall and it remains during 2 days, whereas the housekeepers saw it. Even this Hilton isn't a 5 stars hotel, you should expect a minimum of service when you go in a brand hotel for more than 400$ per night.You can go there if you have no other choice, it is not awful, but we won't go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LMParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2007

I stayed here for 6 nights recently. We paid additional for a Club Level room...we had an unrenovated room which had a foul odour emitting from the bathroom (let alone the yellow stained shower curtain). The staff were not really interested in helping or wanting to make your stay more positive. The room service staff were pushy over tips (although a reasonable tip was given) and quiet rude.
We had an additional night booked at the hotel after visiting Washington, however cancelled it to stay at the Westin Times Square which made the Hilton look like a highway motel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

The hotel was in the perfect location! We had a very speedy check-in and check-out. The only major fault to this hotel was that the room was very warm throughout the night. When we complained that the room was uncomfortable, we were told that only the heater works during the winter months, but we could open our windows. We opened the windows, but then we had to listen to the horns blowing throughout the night. Overall, the hotel was nice and it served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jae_mye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,475 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,026 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#336 of 470 in New York City
5,005 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#213 of 470 in New York City
4,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: RM901 - RM2,630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing