We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, shame about the breakfast buffet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #328 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 July 2007

This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin - the location is central for most things to see and do on Manhattan, the lobby/reception is fabulous, the staff are all very polite and efficient, the room well equiped and modern and with the most comfortable bed (essential after walking miles daily) and a clean bathroom. Even better on the morning of our departure, we discovered we could check-in on-line for our flight from free kiosks in the lobby area....! Fantastic idea - saved us time and aggravation at the airport and gave us precious extra time in NYC!
This hotel is not cheap by any stretch of the imagination, but we felt it worth every penny, for the comfort/quality it provided.
BUT, the cost of eating at the hotel is outrageous, we did try the breakfast buffet one morning, but at $26 per person we expected a greater choice than we got. However, it does have an extensive Japanese buffet choice, so if that was your breakfast of choice then you may feel differently. Rather than opt for breakfast here again, we went to a previously visited diner - Burger Heaven, which offers a good choice of menu and a more 'authentic' NYC breakfast!
If it is was a toss up between staying here again and another similar hotel in the same block, I would probably say go with the Sheraton, but only because they do have a fantastic breakfast buffet and isn't breakfast supposed to be the most important meal of the day!?

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mrspodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,173 - 8,177 of 10,623 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2007

I really liked this hotel. I didn't expect it to be as nice when seeing it from the outside, but the room was great, I'm wondering if it was recently remodeled. A good size for a NY hotel room, and I've been in quite a few now. Very good for travelling with children...we had a 16, 13 and 7 year old and they accomodated the 5 of us very well. Central to many NY locations, Times Square, 5th Ave Shops, Central Park, great places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Had a great time in New York for holiday. This hotel is a busy hotel close to the South side of Central Park and Rockerfeller Centre. Can walk easily to the 5th Ave shopping area and Times Square.

The hotel itself was very good. The main receptiion area was always busy as you may expect for such a large hotel. There are nice bars but very expensive.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone going on holiday purely for the location.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank nathe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

The location of this hotel is excellent. Radio City Music Hall, within a few minutes walk - just sorry there were no concerts on when we were there! Central Park just minutes over the road.

The hotel itself was fine. Very busy with lots of conventions and business people. Check in was as you would expect from New York.

The room was quite small - there was a sofa situated at an angle, which was strange as it took up lots of room - probably best without that and just a chair instead. Bathroom looked new, but again very small.

We tried the restaurant for breakfast on the first morning - you learn by your mistakes - it was very expensive - and confusing! From then on, we tried a cafe to the left of the hotel - excellent breakfast and very reasonable.

Overall, a nice hotel, but maybe a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

through Priceline - got this as a "4 star Midtown West." at very reasonable price. Bypassed the check-in line w/ Zip Check In lobby terminal - very speedy, BUT the room we were assigned was dirty. So, we had to go back down and wait in the front desk line anyhow. The clerk apologized, and the second room was a slight upgrade, a little bigger with a bay window. Overall, for NYC, good size, clean, updated - great location just 4 blocks out of Times Sq. Would certainly stay again at a discounted price.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank Charlesgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,478 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,032 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#336 of 470 in New York City
5,010 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#213 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: RM862 - RM2,610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing