We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tribecatastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tribecatastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in Duane Street Hotel for 3 nights in Feb 2012. We loved the hotel and the location. The rooms are clean, comfortable with all amenities and were actually bigger than expected! (New York hotel rooms are small! Get used to it!). We did not find the hotel at all noisy and got a great nights sleep in the super large and comfy bed. The staff are really friendly and full of usefull info. We ate in metaphor one night and the food was lovely. As a couple consisting of one vegetarian and one carnivourous coeliac we are quite hard to cater for but the restuarant provided a 5 course taster menu that met both of our dietary needs and was really tasty. Next time we visit New York we'll be back to Duane Street!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Glad you enjoyed yourself and looking forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    203
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
90
208
52
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Most responsive staff I have ever met. Needed more hangars ... we had them in 3 minutes. Went down to ask about ice ... housekeeping was waiting with a bucket of ice for me when I went back to my room. I don't know how they beat me back! Wanted to make reservations for the 9/11 memorial ... Chris sat me down behind the computer at the front desk, walked me thru the process, and printed out the reservations.

Super location ... easy walk to ground zero, Battery Park, financial district, city hall, Brooklyn Bridge, many great neighborhood restaurants.

Only negative was that the room was small; although I've been in smaller. And, to be fair, I chose the smaller room to fit our budget. On the otherhand, despite the fact that we were on the second floor, facing busy Church Street, it was the quietest urban hotel I've ever been in. No noise ... really!!! ... from the restaurant below, the room above, the street (the windows were double-paned) or the hall. I was amazed!

Room Tip: Don't worry about being low (2nd floor), no street noise penetrates the well-designed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and looking forward to greeting you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here on a recent business trip to NYC and found it very comfortable. Located in the trendy TriBeCa area it is great for access to lower Manhatten as well as Greenwich Village and Soho. Beds and pillows were very comfortable, wall mounted flat screen TV, free wi-fi (!!) nice bathroom toiletries, and great walk-in roomy shower. Room was on small side (no place for luggage access), but that is usual in small boutique hotels. Very friendly service and vibe in the small ground floor lounge where they will serve you drinks. There is a very good restaurant on site, although I confess I didn't use it as breakfast is one of my favourite meals to have out in NYC. I would definitely go back. Perfect for business.

Room Tip: Rooms are double glazed, so not too noisy. Rooms higher up may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwesternGirl77797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Do not forget to become a Stash Reward member the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one week during a recent business trip to New York and was blown away by the level of service provided by everyone, from the manager down to those tasked with cleaning the rooms. We were given a larger room to accomodate printers and boxes of documents we had with us, at no charge. They brought a mini-regrigerator and replaced the normal desk chair with a high quality office chair because they knew we were using the room as an office as well as a place to sleep at night. The hotel is conveniently placed around great restaurants, deli, and was within walking distance to the courts in New York as well as the 9/11 memorial. I would certainly stay here again, on business and pleasure. Only down side of the hotel was that the rooms are not very soundproof and bad neighbors could make for some annoyance, though I'm confident the staff would handle any potential issue that may arise with professionalism and courtesy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and looking forward to seeing you the next time you are in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. The location was great, the staff helpful and the decor very 'downtown' feeling. The only issue is the size of the room. I couldn't figure out a convenient place to leave my suitcase opened. I was traveling alone so I could make it work. I would stay again though as that was a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nole78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
I really appreciate your feedback. Want to share with you that we have larger room that we can offer you for your next visit. Once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): RM1,094 - RM2,411
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing