We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember...it's NYC!”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #350 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My second stay at the Empire Hotel primarily because of its location -- the heart of the upper West Side -- with close proximity to great restaurants, good shopping, I always have luck with super early check-in and I can find a decent rate. As to the rooms.....remember people, this is NYC where rooms are SMALL for the most part. That said, the Empire - for the price - provides rooms that are decent, clean...and the junior suite is really roomy! Enjoy midtown, Soho, the Financial District, Broadway, etc.....and then come back to the peacefulness of the Upper West Side, blocks from Central Park. I'll be back again as it definitely fits the need!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are glad that you and family loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 6,248 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in a useful position, close to the Central Park . Room spacious , clean and well equipped. Thanks for hosting our pet, It's a pity that it was not possible have dinner with the pet in your restaurant. Special thanks to Mr Pasquale for the courtesy and the helpfullness.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 363holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this review. Our company values put guest satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to their experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really disliked this hotel. The rooms are dark, not for atmosphere, just unpleasant. The room is very small- reminiscent of chickens in a cage where they can't stretch their legs. The shower can only be turned on and regulated by standing directly under the water. I asked for someone from room service to show me how, his head got wet too. The cleaning lady left no soap one day. Everything is extra$$$. There is a coffee maker in the room, but you have to pay for using it. The Wi-Fi for the room costs ten dollars a day. You have to pay for the computer in the lobby to print a boarding pass. The keys don't work so in 4 days, I had to come back down and stand in line 3 times at reception because I was locked out of the room. The staff, from house-keeping to reception, was nasty. Will not return, nor recommend.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank szinesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband had the flu and passed out in the foyer of the hotel. The staff were very helpful initially. I got my husband back to bed with the understanding a doctor was on the way. After waiting an hour I tried ringing the concierge, the front desk and room service. I could not get anyone to answer the phone.
A guest in a foreign country is very daunting when you cant get assistance. I finally went downstairs and asked how long before I could expect the doctor. They then inform me that a doctor had not been called and if I wanted one I should just ring 911. I was gutted.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim5370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kim,

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Check in/out easy; no surprises. Staff friendly and helpful; room decor nice; we had a weirdly shaped inside corner room which was small with a double bed. Was fine granddaughter and myself. The bathroom was tiny which again was Okay but would not do for many; the fixtures were the smallest I’ve seen. The shower was standard. Inside door bolt wouldn’t latch but the door was locked so I didn’t stress much. Location good, close to subway and park; plenty of Starbucks and deli’s. Good shopping up Broadway.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customers and we're overjoyed to recieve your compliments and appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#129 of 470 in New York City
5,453 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 470 in New York City
4,911 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#183 of 470 in New York City
5,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#61 of 470 in New York City
3,776 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 470 in New York City
4,450 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#398 of 470 in New York City
6,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: RM579 - RM1,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing