We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing second visit”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #340 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 17 December 2017

I first visited this hotel in 2011 and had no complaints, so I thought I would book into this hotel again as it had a good location and I thought it was a good hotel on my first visit, however these were not my thoughts when leaving after our second visit.
The room itself was ok, although it was absolutely boiling (yes, even in December) and the heating system in the hotel is absolutely old school, plus it is so loud I had to sleep with ear plugs in.
WiFi was free in room when I visited in 2011, now it is chargeable in room and only free in the lobby. Another money making idea, which is frustrating.
I would say I wouldn’t visit this hotel again, unfortunately.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie1988x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. Your feedback will be passed on to our executive office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 6,387 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017

The staff at the front desk was great. Sophy took great care of me at check-in, found me a room when mine wasn't ready, and remembered me when I called to get my car the next day! While my room was larger than most, the rooms are generally pretty small based on my friends' experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tclarke73d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

This is the seventh time l have been to the Empire Hotel.
My room was so humid it took my breath away with the smell and all my hanging clothes stank.
To add insult to injury l had a lot of money stolen from my case.
It was investigated l was told and the upshot was lit was my fault and l must’ve lost it somewhere else.
Great no ?
The staff was interviewed l was told and big surprise no one came in my room, well actually they did and when they saw my case opened where the money was they closed the door!
Obviously!!!
So there we are !
I let you judge for yourself !
Honesty is not the culture of the Empire Hotel and the client is far from being king!
Very sad indeed!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kalinesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We understand your frustration in this matter. This was brought to the executive office, our staff did a complete investigation and nothing was found.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

The Empire Hotel is well located, which is about all it has going for it.
The bathrooms were the most surprising I have seen in decades of travel and certainly at this price.
The water never got hot. Every single shower was freezing cold. I tested the temperature 3-4 times a day over our 4 day stay and never got a hot shower, or even hot water to wash up.
The junior suite had a tiny bath with a crazy shower. One ceiling bulb (shower light broken). The railing was for a normal sliding shower door, but had the near side anchored and the far side removed. This makes it hard to turn on the cold shower, and leads to water all over the floor (see photos). What were they thinking? Also why put a soap dish to jab into your thigh? They put faucets on the sink too low to wash, but perfect to spray water off drain onto your legs and floor.

The pull out couch was bent, ragged and not pre-made (see photo). It was miserably uncomfortable.
For some reason, vacuum cleaners littered the hallway for entire 4-day stay. Asked about it and one outside our door was moved.

Crazy prices: $3 K cup, $15-$20 for movie, charging for internet.
Twice waited 15 min at busy lobby bar with one barman. Asked about the roof bar, but then it became “closed” in the afternoon during the 5 min it took us to drop bags.

To recap: good location, noisy, freezing cold showers, non-functional bathrooms, lack of concern for guest.

Room Tip: lower floors are really noisy. check everything including bathroom, and pull-out beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during your stay. Your feedback will be discussed with upper management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The room was really a closet. The bathroom door just missed the toilet. You had to maneuver to get in the bathroom. The AC/Heating unit was making painful noises all night. You're paying for a lobby that you never use. The view was a another roof top full of construction garbage.

Room Tip: Make sure you question them regarding the location and size of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#361 of 473 in New York City
4,519 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#122 of 473 in New York City
5,647 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#398 of 473 in New York City
6,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#80 of 473 in New York City
1,958 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,068 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 473 in New York City
5,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: RM 483 - RM 1,637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing