We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$235
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$204
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$146
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 04/08
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$199
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$420
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (6,645)
Filter reviews
6,645 results
Traveller rating
2,105
1,983
1,300
725
532
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,105
1,983
1,300
725
532
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln centered's chowder housegossip girlpool deckcentral parkcolumbus circlegreat locationrooftop barnew yorkupper west sidejunior suiterooms are smallaround the cornertimes squarenycstarbuckssubway
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 6,645 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017

The staff at the front desk was great. Sophy took great care of me at check-in, found me a room when mine wasn't ready, and remembered me when I called to get my car the next day! While my room was larger than most, the rooms are generally pretty small based on my friends' experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tclarke73d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

This is the seventh time l have been to the Empire Hotel.
My room was so humid it took my breath away with the smell and all my hanging clothes stank.
To add insult to injury l had a lot of money stolen from my case.
It was investigated l was told and the upshot was lit was my fault and l must’ve lost it somewhere else.
Great no ?
The staff was interviewed l was told and big surprise no one came in my room, well actually they did and when they saw my case opened where the money was they closed the door!
Obviously!!!
So there we are !
I let you judge for yourself !
Honesty is not the culture of the Empire Hotel and the client is far from being king!
Very sad indeed!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kalinesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We understand your frustration in this matter. This was brought to the executive office, our staff did a complete investigation and nothing was found.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

The Empire Hotel is well located, which is about all it has going for it.
The bathrooms were the most surprising I have seen in decades of travel and certainly at this price.
The water never got hot. Every single shower was freezing cold. I tested the temperature 3-4 times a day over our 4 day stay and never got a hot shower, or even hot water to wash up.
The junior suite had a tiny bath with a crazy shower. One ceiling bulb (shower light broken). The railing was for a normal sliding shower door, but had the near side anchored and the far side removed. This makes it hard to turn on the cold shower, and leads to water all over the floor (see photos). What were they thinking? Also why put a soap dish to jab into your thigh? They put faucets on the sink too low to wash, but perfect to spray water off drain onto your legs and floor.

The pull out couch was bent, ragged and not pre-made (see photo). It was miserably uncomfortable.
For some reason, vacuum cleaners littered the hallway for entire 4-day stay. Asked about it and one outside our door was moved.

Crazy prices: $3 K cup, $15-$20 for movie, charging for internet.
Twice waited 15 min at busy lobby bar with one barman. Asked about the roof bar, but then it became “closed” in the afternoon during the 5 min it took us to drop bags.

To recap: good location, noisy, freezing cold showers, non-functional bathrooms, lack of concern for guest.

Room Tip: lower floors are really noisy. check everything including bathroom, and pull-out beds
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Team617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during your stay. Your feedback will be discussed with upper management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The room was really a closet. The bathroom door just missed the toilet. You had to maneuver to get in the bathroom. The AC/Heating unit was making painful noises all night. You're paying for a lobby that you never use. The view was a another roof top full of construction garbage.

Room Tip: Make sure you question them regarding the location and size of the room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

There were a few positives about our stay. I originally booked 2 nights at a great rate, called to add a third night and the young man who assisted us was very helpful but could not offer the same rate due to the holiday season which I understand. We arrived early, they stored our bags until our room was ready. When we got into our room, there were no hand towels or a bath mat. The second day after the room was made up, still no hand towels and now no wash cloths. Called housekeeping took close to an hour to get items. Third day no toilet paper or wash cloths prompted a trip to the front desk after phone calls went unanswered. Met with a manager who came across as being inconvenienced by our problem but did accommodate. Rooftop bar was very loud and catered to a younger crowd. Front door people were very nice and the location is very good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kellye2262017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna B, Front Office Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for your valuable review. We will address the issues with our housekeeping department and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews