We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, busy feel, ok rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Ranked #334 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at the Doubletree for a conference in NY. The room was small but clean, the bathroom same. The hotel has a crowded feel, elevators take a while. Service is ok but slow. Location is excellent for midtown meetings.

Only complaint was when I tried to book a third night a room was available but the rate was triple the previous nights. I moved to another hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, Matthew.

We're glad to hear you had such a great experience with us. We care about the satisfaction of our guests so we appreciate you letting us know what we can do to make your stay perfect. We'll make sure to communicate your feedback to our team.

We're looking forward to sharing an even more pleasant experience with you soon. Thank you again and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 109 of 4,963 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

I stayed here with my family for five nights.

Check in was okay - the lady checking us in was very efficient however not very welcoming. We were told that we had to pay $50 dollars a night per room booked on our credit card to cover any potential breakages. As we had two rooms, this came to quite a lot of money! I have been in hotels where we have had to give our credit card to put on file, but never where it has been charged straight away... The money is still not back on the card (There were no breakages!) but we were assured by the reception staff that it would be refunded a few weeks after we were back from the trip. The only bonus from checking in was the warm cookies.

The hotel itself is nice. Clean, excellent maid service and in a good location to visit both Grand Central, Top of the Rock etc. No view to speak of from our room, only that of a wall and an air conditioning unit but what can you expect in NY I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We appreciate the feedback, Hannah.

We're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal. We regret the confusion with your billing and that your stay didn't exceed your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward.

We do hope to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Good location, good price but average facilities. Room was ok, bed reasonable, bathroom absolutely minute but it was clean and fine for sleeping in and in an excellent location being very close to 51st street subway station. Miss the hotel breakfast though and go to the cafe just up the street - was excellent

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We appreciate the feedback, Clare.

While we're happy you appreciated our location, it's unfortunate our facilities and rooms didn't meet your expectations. We regret your challenges and inconvenience so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We spent a couple of nights at the DoubleTree when we went to NYC a couple days prior to our cruise. We found the hotel a a pleasant place to stay and enjoyed our time there.

The rooms were clean and decent sized. We felt the price was reasonable considering we were staying in mid town Manhattan. The staff was friendly. We found the location convenient for seeing the sights of NYC. The subway was right out the door and we quickly mastered the schedules to get around Manhattan.

Overall, good experience.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for the glowing review, Bill!

We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with warm hospitality, comfortable rooms, and efficient service, so this is great to hear!

We'd love to host you again in the future; we'd look forward to that. Have a beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I recently stayed at this hotel while visiting NY for the U.S. Open. I didn't make the reservation, because my stay was included in a package I purchased at a live auction benefit. The tub drained so slowly that my companion and I both resorted to washing up in the sink. This is not an issue that could have escaped the housekeeping staff, and it should have been repaired before this room was used by another guest. I also had a poor experience with the associate at the desk on my departure that left a poor taste in my mouth. On this stay, I didn't enjoy the signature warm cookie, either, because they were overbaked. I slept well, the tv and internet worked properly, and it wasn't noisy. But there was nothing special to make me come back again. If you get a really great deal, I could recommend staying here. If you have to pay the regular NY rate and other hotels are available, I'd recommend that you try one of those, if the reviews are better.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 557lareem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycdtdt, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback. We regret that our services and accommodations didn't meet your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll be sure to discuss your feedback with our team moving forward.

We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#220 of 469 in New York City
4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,718 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 469 in New York City
4,875 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 469 in New York City
8,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City

Address: 569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#211 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: RM520 - RM2,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by Doubletree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
New York City Doubletree
Doubletree Metropolitan New York
Doubletree Metropolitan Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing