We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$239
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$254
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$236
US$200
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (11,581)
Filter reviews
11,581 results
Traveller rating
4,675
3,153
2,082
1,080
591
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,675
3,153
2,082
1,080
591
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbull and bearpeacock alleyiconic hotelpark avenuenew yorkart decoroom servicebeautiful lobbyan upgradechrysler buildinggrand central stationtimes squareoscarsnycluxuryglamourconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
8,398 - 8,403 of 11,581 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in the Waldorf for 3 nights. The lobby is huge and impressive, beautiful ornate ceilings with the iconic wooden clock in the middle. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy you can't help but falling asleep as soon as you lie on it, excellent quality bedlinen and comfy pillows. The room had no tea/coffee making facilities, don't know if this is a US thing or not. Room was quite big for NY standards. Bathroom is clean but could do with modernising and replacing with new white suites. The cosmetics they provide such as the soap, shampoo etc is really nice, usually I don't use hotel shampoos and use my own but this was good. The Waldorf is walking distance from 5th Avenue, Central Park, Empire State Building and various other attractions. There are a few bars at the hotel, bear in mind they are expensive. I thought everyone was going to be stuffy and dressed up there but most people were walking around in casual clothes (shorts, T-shirts and sandals).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diesel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for a night in December after moving from our first hotel in which we spent three great nights. I got the room on a 50% off deal. We would never had afforded this room without the offer. If I had paid the full amount I would have been dissapointed.

The room was very big and the bed was massive and comfortable. However we thought the the decor of the room was very dated and in need of modernising. This was also the case for the bathroom.

The decor of the ground floor and restaraunts is fantastic/stunning. The prices of food and drinks in the hotel are expensive which you woulp expect from a hotel of this calibre.

On the whole we found the hotel a bit overated.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvic140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Myself and my friend stayed here in February 2010 as part of my birthday celebrations. Its a hotel we have both admired and always wanted to stay in. We booked a fantastic rate on a mini suite room. The room had 2 double beds, a lounge and 2 bathrooms. A little disappointed that we didn't get a marble bathtub but it was certainly an experience staying there. We also ended up staying an extra night due to our delay during the first part of our holiday. We downgraded to a Double Double room and the porters transferred our luggage whilst we were out sight seeing, so all we needed to do was check out of one room and into the other. The double double room was just as impressive as the mini suite! A huge bathroom and a good sized space for getting dressed as well as 2 double beds.

The hotel is very close to Magnolias Bakery, which is famous for being in Sex and the City. They sell some amazing cakes. The location again is excellent and near a really good diner that is perfect for breakfast, not too expensive and very friendly.

Overall this was a wonderful stay and I would honestly go and stay there again if the price was right. It ticked all of the boxes and many more. The staff were friendly and very helpful. John, on the Concierge desk informed us of the airport shuttle which was so much cheaper than getting a taxi. It was $17 each I think from the Waldorf Astoria to Newark Liberty International. Highly recommend this hotel, even if it is just for 1 night to say you have stayed here and experienced a night at the Waldorf Astoria, New York!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is a classic. Most everyone has heard of it and seen it in a movie or two. We were super excited to be staying here. Unfortunately it probably would a lot better if we stayed in 1975 instead of 2010. This hotel looks like it is stuck in the 1970's.
We had a decent size room for NYC. Something I noticed that was unique was each room has a doorbell. Probably really cool 30 years ago, but I got bored with it after ringing it a few times.
The bathrooms are eclectic but be careful of the sloped shower/bathtubs. When the water hits the tub floor it makes a pseudo slip and slide.
The lobby is vast and dripping in gold and elaborate decorations. Each Sunday they turn the lobby into a giant brunch buffet. My mouth was watering looking at all the fresh shrimp and the smell of the omelets, but at $90 a person ($60 for a child) we passed.

Overall it was nice to be able to say I've stayed here, but probably will look to stay somewhere a bit more modern next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trifocal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel lobby is overly impressive, so much so that they may have forgotten about the rest of the hotel. The rooms are nice, but staying here you expect more than just nice. I certainly don't have anything bad to say but again, you expect more. They are clean, nicely furnished with a big tv and elegant feel. Each room has its own wifi, but it costs $15.99 a day. The rooms seem safe enough but there is no safe inside. Everything that is positive seems to have a 'but'.
Its hard to pin point anything wrong with the hotel but you leave with a small sense of disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_b_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews