We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #257 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I visited NYC for part business and part pleasure. I must say that the bed was incredibly comfortable. The room itself was nice but the bathroom was small and definitely not built for women in mind as there is no real space for toiletries. Also, be careful not to move things around in the mini bar or you will find numerous charges on your folio. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,375 - 8,379 of 11,545 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in the Waldorf for 3 nights. The lobby is huge and impressive, beautiful ornate ceilings with the iconic wooden clock in the middle. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy you can't help but falling asleep as soon as you lie on it, excellent quality bedlinen and comfy pillows. The room had no tea/coffee making facilities, don't know if this is a US thing or not. Room was quite big for NY standards. Bathroom is clean but could do with modernising and replacing with new white suites. The cosmetics they provide such as the soap, shampoo etc is really nice, usually I don't use hotel shampoos and use my own but this was good. The Waldorf is walking distance from 5th Avenue, Central Park, Empire State Building and various other attractions. There are a few bars at the hotel, bear in mind they are expensive. I thought everyone was going to be stuffy and dressed up there but most people were walking around in casual clothes (shorts, T-shirts and sandals).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diesel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for a night in December after moving from our first hotel in which we spent three great nights. I got the room on a 50% off deal. We would never had afforded this room without the offer. If I had paid the full amount I would have been dissapointed.

The room was very big and the bed was massive and comfortable. However we thought the the decor of the room was very dated and in need of modernising. This was also the case for the bathroom.

The decor of the ground floor and restaraunts is fantastic/stunning. The prices of food and drinks in the hotel are expensive which you woulp expect from a hotel of this calibre.

On the whole we found the hotel a bit overated.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvic140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Myself and my friend stayed here in February 2010 as part of my birthday celebrations. Its a hotel we have both admired and always wanted to stay in. We booked a fantastic rate on a mini suite room. The room had 2 double beds, a lounge and 2 bathrooms. A little disappointed that we didn't get a marble bathtub but it was certainly an experience staying there. We also ended up staying an extra night due to our delay during the first part of our holiday. We downgraded to a Double Double room and the porters transferred our luggage whilst we were out sight seeing, so all we needed to do was check out of one room and into the other. The double double room was just as impressive as the mini suite! A huge bathroom and a good sized space for getting dressed as well as 2 double beds.

The hotel is very close to Magnolias Bakery, which is famous for being in Sex and the City. They sell some amazing cakes. The location again is excellent and near a really good diner that is perfect for breakfast, not too expensive and very friendly.

Overall this was a wonderful stay and I would honestly go and stay there again if the price was right. It ticked all of the boxes and many more. The staff were friendly and very helpful. John, on the Concierge desk informed us of the airport shuttle which was so much cheaper than getting a taxi. It was $17 each I think from the Waldorf Astoria to Newark Liberty International. Highly recommend this hotel, even if it is just for 1 night to say you have stayed here and experienced a night at the Waldorf Astoria, New York!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is a classic. Most everyone has heard of it and seen it in a movie or two. We were super excited to be staying here. Unfortunately it probably would a lot better if we stayed in 1975 instead of 2010. This hotel looks like it is stuck in the 1970's.
We had a decent size room for NYC. Something I noticed that was unique was each room has a doorbell. Probably really cool 30 years ago, but I got bored with it after ringing it a few times.
The bathrooms are eclectic but be careful of the sloped shower/bathtubs. When the water hits the tub floor it makes a pseudo slip and slide.
The lobby is vast and dripping in gold and elaborate decorations. Each Sunday they turn the lobby into a giant brunch buffet. My mouth was watering looking at all the fresh shrimp and the smell of the omelets, but at $90 a person ($60 for a child) we passed.

Overall it was nice to be able to say I've stayed here, but probably will look to stay somewhere a bit more modern next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trifocal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#104 of 470 in New York City
2,394 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 470 in New York City
3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#55 of 470 in New York City
778 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#105 of 470 in New York City
214 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#51 of 470 in New York City
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: RM1,302 - RM7,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing