We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing BUT...not the best choice for a family with kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #259 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

So let me preface my comments by clarifying that staying at the Waldorf Astoria is an experience just as much as it is a place to stay for the night. It really is an exquisite hotel with so much character and old charm that we don't see in most hotels today. There's a personal touch to most everything and the Sunday brunch is not to be missed!

With that said, we were visiting friends downtown and decided to stay at the Waldorf not really putting much thought into staying as a family with 3 kiddos. We took a suite to be sure we had enough space, although significantly more expensive, it was worth it.

What struck me though and was a bit off-putting was how unfriendly folks were to children- my girls are well behaved and polite by all means but they are children! There should be a sign up that says, "FOR FUNSUCKERS ONLY!" or "NO FUN ALLOWED ON PREMISES!". Okay, but I'm not exaggerating! It was really that bad.

So, overall a very different experience as a couple verses as a family. Important for folks to know and consider! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors and a suite of course! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The_Kannan_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 11,545 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

The Waldorf was a Midtown East institution in New York before closing indefinitely in February 2017 - perhaps for reconstruction and refurbishment? Having stayed there over the winter we can see why renovation was indeed most necessary, at all levels. It was very disappointing and also very expensive. The Art Deco grandeur of the lobby is in marked contrast to the rather modest sized room with broken fittings in the bathroom, and unpredictable heating. Free wifi was only available in the lobby; for some reason everyone was generating static electricity, when walking, possibly due to dry winter days.

I don’t plan to stay here again but did enjoy the experience of being in the same historical location as where John and Jackie Kennedy spent the first night of their honeymoon here the Great Gatsby film (1974) and the hilarious Coming to America (1988), amongst many others.

Room Tip: unpredictable - a lottery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Great hotel. Clean. Stayed with my family on a quick NYC trip. It was everything that we hoped for...location was perfect. Kids loved the experience. Nothing negative to say at all. We will definitely be back for a Christmas visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suz882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed a few nights here for meetings. This is a classic hotel and truly lives up to the brand. The lobbies are beautiful and give the feel of a visit to the past. The best part was the bar. They serve classic drinks and the bartenders tell you all the stories of many celebrities they have waited on.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank johnnyvegas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

I stayed one night in June for a social event honoring one of my mentors. The entire facility seemed to be decked out for the event. From the moment I walked up the stairs into the main atrium, I was struck by the opulent decor and incredible floral displays. The check-in was smooth and amiable, and I was able to get up to my room quickly. I found all the equipment to iron my Military Mess Dress (tuxedo) Uniform for the event, and had no trouble getting wifi access.
The event was one I will remember forever.. great food, all the glitterati in attendance, photo opportunities, etc... then, back to my humble existence.
I suppose it is worth the cost for the experience. Once.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Huhwhatduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#106 of 470 in New York City
2,390 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#78 of 470 in New York City
3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#54 of 470 in New York City
776 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#124 of 470 in New York City
213 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#51 of 470 in New York City
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: RM1,301 - RM7,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing