We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Honest Review”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #95 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel metro for a short city break to NYC. I spent hours looking for a hotel that was good value but ultimately recommended. I picked the Hotel Metro because of its position in the ratings, in the top 100 of NYC on trip adviser.

Other things which helped me decide was; the included continental breakfast, position and free wireless.

I'm glad I choose this hotel because it was in a good location, very near Times Sq, Macy's, Empire State building and a subway stop. The hotel is very clean, a clean decor and the staff are incredibly friendly. They make you feel welcome, will help you with maps, suggestions and aim to please. The hotel is not on a main street, so remains quiet with minimal road noise.

The rooms are large, airy and most importantly have incredibly comfortable beds. The room contained an Ipod dock, widescreen TV and most of all - a fridge and safe. The rooms are well connected to the free wifi. The bathrooms were clean, had great fluffy white towels and upmarket toiletries. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff very nice. Some folk had mentioned in reviews that no tea/coffee facilities were available in the room, this is true but there was always free fresh coffee and tea in the lounge which was easily accessible and ultimately better than the instant coffee/UHT combo which is the norm

The breakfast which was included for free, was better than most american style continental breakfast, which is always different from the European style. It contained fresh muffins, bagels, patisseries, breads and cereal. Drinks included orange and apple juice and tea/Coffee. Also fruit and yogurts were available.

The hotel also boasts a roof terrace which is sheltered but affords a great view of the empire state building. A complementary gym is also included. The hotel also contains a bar/restaurant which was friendly, possessed a good menu and was handy.

In summary; a good hotel, good service and excellent location. I would choose this hotel over most of the hotels in the mid price bracket in Manhattan, especially most over most chain hotel groups.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank irishfreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,411 - 2,415 of 4,210 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great little hotel in the heart of midtown. I've been here twice in the past year-once with family (stayed in 2-room suite near top of hotel--excellent value) and once on business (in a smaller room, very reasonably priced and comfortable also.) A fun worldwide clientele and a really cool retro design in the place. One great plus is the excellent restaurant just off the lobby-after a long day of work it was nice going downstairs to good food and wine and attentive service in the restaurant. The rooftop bar (not enclosed so only good in warm weather) has a stupendous view of the Empire State Building a block away. My only complaint about the hotel---the Concierge was really a lousy Concierge. Seemed rather disinterested and led me wrong all three times I needed info during my two stays. But hey --the desk staff is good and the doorman was very helpful. I gotta give the hotel 5 stars. Won't stay anywhere else in NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guapo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I thought this was a good place to stay for the price. It's in a very central location within walking distance of lots of key attractions, and two minutes from a useful subway station that's well connected. The room was a decent size and comfortable, although slightly dated, and the bathroom was clean and functional. The main plus for this hotel is the fact that all the staff are friendly and welcoming, and you feel that everything is done to make your stay more pleasant - breakfast, free wifi, a free business centre with printer, etc. You feel looked after rather than ripped off, which in this price range seems like a rare thing in New York! I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in a premier queen room in the 10th floor for one week. In fact, we were upgraded by the hotel.
Spacious room for a Manhattan hotel. Very comfortable, very clean and very quiet. The lighting was conveniently installed. There was a coffee-maker (used capsules were replaced every day), a flat-screen TV (we did not use it), mini refrigerator and ironing equipment. The walk-in closet could store two large luggages and the safe was large enough to store a notebook, a large camera and other smaller stuff. The bathroom was well-thought and comfortable: rain, hand and fixed shower heads, magnifying make-up mirror, very powerful hair dryer.

There were two small issues which are not a big deal compared with our general satisfaction. Whenever we left the AC working in the late afternoon, the room smelled like garlic sauteed in oil. Probably a leek from the restaurant's ventilation. For me it was no problem but my husband was uncomfortable so we kept AC off in the afternoon. Second, there was a problem with internet connection for a couple of days but we were not left without connection. I only had to call the service provider to let them define each of our devices manually to the network. Not a convenient way but we had our internet and such problems may occur once in a while. Anyway it was completely solved within 2 days and the wi-fi connection was very good in general.

The breakfast room was nice and comfortable. It was more like a living room that made us feel at home. Donuts, pastry, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, jams, butter and cream cheese. Coffee and tea is served whole day. The roof terrace is wonderful even in January while it is snowing. I assume it is much better in warmer times. Just do not forget to take your drink upstairs with you.

The location is most convenient. Especially if you like to walk. The subway station is just on the corner 1 minute walking distance. Penn station, path station, macy's all are within 5-8 minutes walking distance.

I do not think I will look for another hotel in Manhattan as long as they have room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Me and my fiancee stayed at Hotel Metro for 4 nights in early Feb 2012 and we both thought the hotel and all it's staff were excellent. A family member had emailed the hotel telling them of our recent engagement and when we checked in we recieved a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room and had champagne on ice waiting for us inside the room with a lovely note from the staff. The room was nice and big and the view of the empire state building from the roof top terrace brilliant. We never ate in the hotel restaurant but it was always busy and food looked very nice. The breakfast in the dining room was just what you needed before a long days sightseeing/shopping. Lots to choose from, bagels, toast, cereal,muffins, fruit, yogurt, tea and coffee. The hotel is in an excellent location right next door to macys and empire state building and only a 5 min walk to times square. We booked the all around town tour with thomas cook before we left and payed £40 each which was cheaper than what you would be charged in nyc. It also included a tour of brooklyn and the river cruise which was excellent for sight seeing. When we go back to nyc in the future we will be definitely be staying at the Hotel Metro again.

Room Tip: higher the room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannyandbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 469 in New York City
763 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#106 of 469 in New York City
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#162 of 469 in New York City
2,184 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: RM797 - RM1,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing