We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metro
Nearby Hotels
US$226
US$196
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$187
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sofitel New York(New York City)
US$414
US$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Row NYC Hotel(New York City)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$297
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$290
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,406)
Filter reviews
4,406 results
Traveller rating
2,314
1,627
330
79
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,314
1,627
330
79
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemetro grillbagelsthe empire state buildingtea and coffeepremier queen roomnew yorkgreat hoteltimes squarecontinental breakfastfamily suiteset you up for the dayherald squarepenn stationthe penthousefresh fruitperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
2,572 - 2,577 of 4,406 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great little hotel in the heart of midtown. I've been here twice in the past year-once with family (stayed in 2-room suite near top of hotel--excellent value) and once on business (in a smaller room, very reasonably priced and comfortable also.) A fun worldwide clientele and a really cool retro design in the place. One great plus is the excellent restaurant just off the lobby-after a long day of work it was nice going downstairs to good food and wine and attentive service in the restaurant. The rooftop bar (not enclosed so only good in warm weather) has a stupendous view of the Empire State Building a block away. My only complaint about the hotel---the Concierge was really a lousy Concierge. Seemed rather disinterested and led me wrong all three times I needed info during my two stays. But hey --the desk staff is good and the doorman was very helpful. I gotta give the hotel 5 stars. Won't stay anywhere else in NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guapo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I thought this was a good place to stay for the price. It's in a very central location within walking distance of lots of key attractions, and two minutes from a useful subway station that's well connected. The room was a decent size and comfortable, although slightly dated, and the bathroom was clean and functional. The main plus for this hotel is the fact that all the staff are friendly and welcoming, and you feel that everything is done to make your stay more pleasant - breakfast, free wifi, a free business centre with printer, etc. You feel looked after rather than ripped off, which in this price range seems like a rare thing in New York! I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in a premier queen room in the 10th floor for one week. In fact, we were upgraded by the hotel.
Spacious room for a Manhattan hotel. Very comfortable, very clean and very quiet. The lighting was conveniently installed. There was a coffee-maker (used capsules were replaced every day), a flat-screen TV (we did not use it), mini refrigerator and ironing equipment. The walk-in closet could store two large luggages and the safe was large enough to store a notebook, a large camera and other smaller stuff. The bathroom was well-thought and comfortable: rain, hand and fixed shower heads, magnifying make-up mirror, very powerful hair dryer.

There were two small issues which are not a big deal compared with our general satisfaction. Whenever we left the AC working in the late afternoon, the room smelled like garlic sauteed in oil. Probably a leek from the restaurant's ventilation. For me it was no problem but my husband was uncomfortable so we kept AC off in the afternoon. Second, there was a problem with internet connection for a couple of days but we were not left without connection. I only had to call the service provider to let them define each of our devices manually to the network. Not a convenient way but we had our internet and such problems may occur once in a while. Anyway it was completely solved within 2 days and the wi-fi connection was very good in general.

The breakfast room was nice and comfortable. It was more like a living room that made us feel at home. Donuts, pastry, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, jams, butter and cream cheese. Coffee and tea is served whole day. The roof terrace is wonderful even in January while it is snowing. I assume it is much better in warmer times. Just do not forget to take your drink upstairs with you.

The location is most convenient. Especially if you like to walk. The subway station is just on the corner 1 minute walking distance. Penn station, path station, macy's all are within 5-8 minutes walking distance.

I do not think I will look for another hotel in Manhattan as long as they have room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Me and my fiancee stayed at Hotel Metro for 4 nights in early Feb 2012 and we both thought the hotel and all it's staff were excellent. A family member had emailed the hotel telling them of our recent engagement and when we checked in we recieved a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room and had champagne on ice waiting for us inside the room with a lovely note from the staff. The room was nice and big and the view of the empire state building from the roof top terrace brilliant. We never ate in the hotel restaurant but it was always busy and food looked very nice. The breakfast in the dining room was just what you needed before a long days sightseeing/shopping. Lots to choose from, bagels, toast, cereal,muffins, fruit, yogurt, tea and coffee. The hotel is in an excellent location right next door to macys and empire state building and only a 5 min walk to times square. We booked the all around town tour with thomas cook before we left and payed £40 each which was cheaper than what you would be charged in nyc. It also included a tour of brooklyn and the river cruise which was excellent for sight seeing. When we go back to nyc in the future we will be definitely be staying at the Hotel Metro again.

Room Tip: higher the room the better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannyandbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

have just returned from the big apple what a wonderful hotel great area to stay with all amenities not to far to walk to place either, the roof terrence was great to see empire we have some great photos of this only downside no views from windows but hey we were out all day was great to come back and have acoffee in lounge to relax before the night life began will definatly booking again if they have rooms available in june need to see more

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitamia37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews