We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,526)
Filter reviews
4,526 results
Traveller rating
2,376
1,665
345
81
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,376
1,665
345
81
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace metro grill bagels the empire state building tea and coffee premier queen room free wine tasting new york great hotel times square continental breakfast family suite set you up for the day herald square penn station the penthouse perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
2,638 - 2,643 of 4,526 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for three nights during March. We were informed on arrival that we had been upgraded to a superior room, which had a superb view of the Empire State Building. Room was clean and comfortable and air conditioning was very welcome for the unseasonably hot weather we had during our stay. Breakfast was complimentary and although basic, was very adequate, particularly toasted bagel with cream cheese!

Our room was a little noisy, even though we were eleven floors up, but think this was due to ongoing maintenance work on the roads outside the hotel.

Hotel penthouse roof is worth a visit for the spectacular view of the Empire State Building, and was especially nice during the evening when it was all lit up. As coffee is available 'on tap,' we took ours up there to enjoy.

Location was excellent. Five minutes walk from Empire State Building, and ten minutes from Time Square, Broadway and Penn Station.

A very enjoyable stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband booked this hotel for a long weekend trip. It's an immaculate place styled in art deco/ black & white film-star theme. Our room was extremely comfortable, air-conditioning, fridge & safe included. The complimentary breakfast was amazing, lots of choices and served from 6:30-11. The hotel couldn't be a better location, 1 block from the subway, 5th Avenue and the Empire State Building and 2 blocks form Macy's. Surrounded by great Irish bars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoMarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have been meaning to stay at the Metro for some time having heard some good reviews from others. I finally stayed there for 3 nights and would recommend it as a great choice, and it's a stone's throw from Macy's. The staff were very good, and I was efficiently checked in, and was advised of the facilities available such as a complimentary breakfast, a business centre and free wifi. I had forgotten to print my travel voucher, and they were fine about this, allowing me to check in first and settle in, and then print it out at the business centre. They do control access to this using keys at the front desk.

I was fortunate enough to get a room upgrade to a Premier room located on a higher floor. The room was decently sized, but as with many New York rooms a bit dark. There are some nice extra touches to the room which made it a great experience, including a large screen flat screen TV, a Keurig Coffee Maker (with some tea cartridges) and a fabulous shower which gives you 3 options to shower (rain shower, standard and hand held). The bathroom has been refurbished to a nice contemporary standard. It provided generously sized toiletries comprising of soap, shampoo, condition and lotion. A shower cap is also provided alongside a hotel style hair dryer unit. On their website they advertise a fridge with a welcome beverage for this room class, but I did not get this, although this might be as it was a room upgrade. The bed was fantastically comfortable. In addition to these facilities, the room also had an iPod dock, laptop friendly safe and iron. The air conditioning was an old style model under the window which did make some noise, but was controlled using an electronic thermostat.

The hotel also offers a complimentary continental breakfast which was very handy. It served tea/coffee, apple and orange juices, bread, bagels, muffins, pastries, yoghurt, cereals and fruit. I would say that the offering was on par with that at the Park South hotel, but not as extensive as the Staybridge Suites which also offered some hot options like oatmeal, waffles and eggs. In addition to the breakfast, it was possible to get complimentary tea and coffee all day. You can also pick up a copy of the New York Times from the front desk.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here and it now on my "go to" list of New York hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a_travel_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is very centrAl, being between Maceys and the Empire State. It may not be the newest or largest but was clean and convenient. Continental breakfast included and very welcome. In all a good place to sleep but not to luxuriate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1248mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in NYC and stayed at the Hotel Metro. It is a great hotel,art deco in style and has a lovely calm feel amongst the mayhem of Manhattan.
The rooms are clean and spacious with a safe for your valuables and a small fridge. The bathroom is adequate with a nice large shower to use.
A breakfast is included and is available from 06.30am until 11am. Hot drinks, juices, cereal, bagels, yoghurts and fruit as well as toast and large muffins! Enough to give you the energy to hit the shops!
There is a gym available for hotel guests to use, but after pounding the pavements for hours I only managed to look at it!
The one fantastic feature of this hotel is the roof bar with its amazing view of the Empire State Building. It certainly is a wow moment when you look up and see this wonderful building.
Another good reason to stay at this hotel is its proximity to the stores. Macy's is about a 1 minute walk and 5th avenue about the same.
A large subway station is about a 30 sec walk away.
All in all a great little hotel in a fantastic location and the staff were fantastic too.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews