We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey smell in our bathroom ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Rey Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

We bought a room for a 1 night stay at the Stratford for Thanksgiving. We were sent over to El Rey instead (I guess they’re owned by the same person?).

The room we got was clean, quite large, and pretty updated cosmetically. There was a microwave and fridge, which we didn’t use. But it would be great for a multiple day visit. The TV was about 30 inches, but my toddler didn’t care.

The beds weren’t the most comfortable but they were clean and I liked the pillows.

Breakfast was good. Most things were fresh and everyone found something they liked to eat.

However, I do have an issue with or stay. It was a non smoking room and the bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke—bad. Like a past customer didn’t want to make a trip outside and instead smoked in the bathroom with the fan on. I don’t know if the bathroom fan even circulates air because it stunk so bad. If we weren’t so tired we would have complained. Not 100% the hotel’s fault, however I feel like this is an issue they should fix before renting out the room.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brooklyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T, Director of Sales at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are so sorry that some things were unpleasant. We strive to make our properties, the best in town. Yes, The Stratford and El Rey are owned by the same people. We hope it wasn't too big of an inconvenience to move to the El Rey.
We apologize for the smell of smoke. We try so hard to make sure the non-smoking rooms are smoke-free. It is very difficult to control, sometimes.
We hope the things you mentioned, do not deter you from staying with us again. Your
opinion is very important to us. We, as a staff will address these things, together. Hopefully, we will see you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

I stay at the El Rey Inn & Suites a couple of times every month. The rooms are cozy, well maintained and always clean. The breakfast offerings are better than many hotels of this size and the locations is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T, Director of Sales at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for the great review, Scott. We love having you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

It's very much like a Best Western. I think I thought it was going to be more like a hotel with rooms facing inward in an enclosed hallway, but that's not the case. It suited our needs fine and the staff was courteous. No complaints.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Savvyshopper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T, Director of Sales at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you, for your comments. It is very important for us to receive your input. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you, again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Recently my husband and I have traveled to Cedar City to watch the SUU games. The El Rey Inn has been a great place for us to stay. It is located a couple miles from SUU, staff is friendly, our room was clean along with a hair dryer, WiFi and breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank sberz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Director of Sales at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We Stay here every time we go to Cedar city. We like the closeness to the Shakespeare plays. This time, if I was going to offer some constructive criticism: They were trying to run the front desk in the morning with the same person running the breakfast room. That was kind of a difficult thing. Because the person had to keep running back-and-forth from the desk to the breakfast room ,from the desk to the breakfast room. Consequently the breakfast room was neglected and when we ask a girl one morning for some more hot water she was a little bit rude and short with us.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank margosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Director of Sales at El Rey Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

We apologise for any rudeness you may have experienced, and we assure you, that is not by any means usual for our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
1.3 km away
Abbey Inn & Suites
Abbey Inn & Suites
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
1,088 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
0.4 km away
Knights Inn Cedar City
Knights Inn Cedar City
#19 of 23 in Cedar City
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
M-Star Cedar City
M-Star Cedar City
#9 of 23 in Cedar City
219 reviews
0.1 km away
Stratford Court Hotel
Stratford Court Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cedar City
73 reviews
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn & Suites

Address: 80 S Main St, Cedar City, UT 84720-3337 (Formerly BEST WESTERN El Rey Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range: RM 223 - RM 493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Rey Inn & Suites, a hotel where guests will find the best in customer service, convenience and accommodations. Situated in Southern Utah, this Cedar City hotel boasts 70 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor heated swimming pool, and business services. This El Rey Inn & Suites is the closest accommodations to the Utah Shakespeare festival, Southern Utah University and venue for the Utah Summer Games. Hotel guests will enjoy many restaurants, shopping and entertainment options within walking distance from the hotel. Spend an afternoon skiing at the Brian Head Ski Resort, just 29 miles away or visit one of the nearby national parks including Cedar Breaks National Monument, Zion Canyon National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The friendly, helpful staff at the El Rey Inn & Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Cedar City, Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rey Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cedar City
Cedar City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing