We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victorian Rose
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ventura
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
48
14
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
14
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold churchb bstained glassswedish pancakesother guestsprivate bathroombed breakfastrooms face the streetenjoy your staydeep cleaningdowntown venturabit wornsitting areaperfect locationfew blocksnonahosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We love staying in B&B's and Inns so we jumped at the chance of staying in one that was formerly a church. Located on Main street just a short few blocks from downtown Ventura it is ideally suited to people that like to walk to dinner and shopping. We were celebrating our anniversary and Nona personally baked us a special treat for the occasion. They also upgraded our room to the Emperor's room at the very top of the old church. Our room overlooked the main street so there was some traffic noise on this Saturday but it quieted down before too long. Our room was spacious and the wall facing the street was almost all stained glass windows.
The breakfast was average but filling. Recommended!

Room Tip: The Emperor's room is something special
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We booked a room in Victorian Rose on a Thanksgiving morning to come and stay there that same night. Nona (the owner and our hostess) was extremely nice and polite, and very accommodating. We came in at night and it seemed like we were the only people in the building. Now then, this place was built in 1881 and used to be an Episcopalian church for over hundred of years before it was turned into B&B in the late 1990's. We took advantage of having the whole place to ourselves and carefully studies all beautiful pieces of furniture and history this place had. There are a couple picture book of weddings that happened in this church, and also a collection of photos from all the construction work they had to do to make the Inn look the way it is now. The owners are obviously collectors as I saw many other items that were not exactly from the Gothic period.

The living/sitting room is the place where the sanctuary used to be, and the former elevated altar is where the dining area is. It is absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. If you like history, I think you would really really enjoy your stay. Because we came in so late, we didn't have a chance to talk to Nona and her husband about the building or it's history, but the books and their website was very helpful.

We stayed in the Fleur De Lis room ($150 a night) that had its own private bathroom and access to the outside patio (we enjoyed some star gazing as it was a very clear and bright night). It was pretty spacious and even featured a fireplace (gas) along with some old and beautiful pieces of furniture. We noticed there was both AC and heater available, but we didn't have to use either, so can't comment on how efficient those are. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but I had no problem sleeping on it (apart form the fact my husband was tossing and turning looking out for "ghosts" - and don't even get me started on that!). I think I would probably pass on on a small older TV's in the room as it was not really era appropriate, but I can imagine a lot of other guests would complain relentlessly. We did notice that the room (especially the bathroom area) could use some better cleaning. Definitely some dusting, polishing and vacuuming. Perhaps because it was a holiday, they didn't have enough staff, but the room needed a little more care (hence one star down).

For breakfast, we had Swedish pancakes and the portions were extremely generous. They also served coffee (though they ran out), orange juice and some watermelon. The hosts didn't join us for breakfast (quite possible due to the fact they had to cook and serve their guests), but we enjoyed our lovely meal with another couple who were visiting family for Thanksgiving. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and headed out to explore downtown Ventura right after. Victorian Rose B&B can boast in perfect location, being a brisk 5 minute walk to downtown and about 15 min to the beach. If you are in the area, I highly recommend you stop by.

Room Tip: Rooms with stain glass will have sun in the morning; bathrooms with two separate faucets for hot & cold water can be inconvenient.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svet5577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

This is a 100+ year old church that has been converted to a quaint B&B. There are 5 unique rooms nicely decorated in different vintage themes. The main room was where the congregation once sat during church services. It now serves as the breakfast dining area and sitting area. The front 2 rooms face the street and tend to be noisy. We stayed in one of the back rooms and were very comfortable. One of the rooms has a detached bathroom near the breakfast area. Might be a bit uncomfortable if needing to use it while people are dining. Owners are very nice and the food was great. We were the only guests on our stay and were given a choice of what we wanted for breakfast. A cool, historic church, near downtown Ventura and not far from the beach. We'll be back.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mikesQ7787RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This place is walking distance to restaurants and downtown. Room was pretty and comfortable. Breakfast was great. The host was sick at the time so not too much interaction with her. Overall it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Masirahqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This place is entirely worn out. I contemplated taking a photo of the balcony patio so you can see the dead plants and broken stuff up there. Good thing my boyfriend and I have a sense of humor - sure, it's interesting that this was a church, but it really is not a nice place to stay. Sorry, Nona.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tammyloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews