We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little restaurant!!”

Lucky Frog Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 631 Restaurants in Bradenton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: German, Mediterranean
Description: The German Lunch and Dinner spot is in the Publix-anchored shopping center at Cortez Road W. open Monday - Saturday. Since opening in September 2014 the Lucky Frog is part of Bradenton’s 10 Best Local Eats, voted three times as Finalist by Bradenton Heralds Peoples Choice and has 4.9 Stars from 5 on Facebook. They offer German and Mediterranean Meals (vegetarian or gluten-free possibilities available) and everything is made from scratch by the owner, Master Chef Uwe. The name comes from "The Lion and the Frog" retold by Brothers Grimm. On the menu, the dishes are named after the fairy tale. There's the Golden Palace, a Vienna-style Schnitzel with German potato salad, the Queens Heart, a Beef Meat, marinated in Red Wine and Vinegar with Red Cabbage and homemade Spaetzle, and the fresh made Potato Pancakes are the best in town. Uwe takes a great care with plating the food. "Your eye is eating first before your stomach. If it's appetizing already, then you really enjoy your meal."
Restaurant details
Description: The German Lunch and Dinner spot is in the Publix-anchored shopping center at Cortez Road W. open Monday - Saturday. Since opening in September 2014 the Lucky Frog is part of Bradenton’s 10 Best Local Eats, voted three times as Finalist by Bradenton Heralds Peoples Choice and has 4.9 Stars from 5 on Facebook. They offer German and Mediterranean Meals (vegetarian or gluten-free possibilities available) and everything is made from scratch by the owner, Master Chef Uwe. The name comes from "The Lion and the Frog" retold by Brothers Grimm. On the menu, the dishes are named after the fairy tale. There's the Golden Palace, a Vienna-style Schnitzel with German potato salad, the Queens Heart, a Beef Meat, marinated in Red Wine and Vinegar with Red Cabbage and homemade Spaetzle, and the fresh made Potato Pancakes are the best in town. Uwe takes a great care with plating the food. "Your eye is eating first before your stomach. If it's appetizing already, then you really enjoy your meal."
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Great service and excellent food make The Lucky Frog an excellent choice for food in Bradenton only 10 minutes from the beach!!!! We love it!!

Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Owner at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you, Rob! Hope to see you soon again, you're allways welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018

Food is exquisite, staff was relatable. No complaints, start to finish we enjoyed ourselves. Not 5 stars, but rated 4.5/5

Thank drew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Owner at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you so much Drew, you're allways very welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Waitress was attentive and friendly. Food tasted very good. The spaetzles tasted good but were really yellow?? I have never seen them so yellow, but they did taste good.

The schnitzel with gravy was very good although I usually like mine plain without sauce/gravy. I liked the potato salad but would like to have had it as a replacement for the salad. When I lived in Germany, salads were not part of the meal, but brotchen was.

And I would love to see a cold German potato salad as an alternative as the one I learned to make in cooking class over in Germany was delicious.

I love Black Forest Cake, but not a small amount of cake with a lot of whipped cream all over it. And unless someone asks, please leave off the powdered sugar off the desserts... too too sweet!

And exchanging the sides for one another without charging would be courteous. I would be happiest with the schnitzel, red cabbage, spatzele, and a cold potato salad ( the kind with some vinegar, bacon bits, etc.). And "plainer" dessert choices, apfel strudel, Black Forest cherry cake... And, could you offer a smaller plate at dinner, in addition to the size you currently carry? I'd rather have a smaller plate, with a smaller price.... for us locals, including retirees on fixed incomes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank amstar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Owner at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for your review. You gave us some Ideas we'll think about and we're very happy that you liked our food and service very much.
If you come again, you could order our Golden Palace Schnitzel, that's without Gravy and it comes with German Potato Salad. Please let us know, that you like the Potato Salad cold. It's easy and you're right - the Germans are eating cold Potato Salad. But here in USA everybody want to have it warm, so we warm it up before we serv it. Please understand that not everybody wants to have bacon or onions in the potato salad (vegetarians/vegans) and we can't substitute our homemade Potato Salad for the little side of Greens. It doesn't have the same value. But I'm grown up 50 years in Germany/Bavaria and I allways got a small Salad with my meal in German Restaurants but never a free Bread. That's a Italian Tradition. Possibly that's a Tradition too in other parts of Germany?
And if you want smaller Portions - come for Lunch, there're smaller Portions otherwise ask us for a box and you have a little lunch for your next day.
Thanks again and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The owners and waitress were very attentive to our visit.. My wife had sauerbraten that she felt was excellent. She had enough that she had food to take home. I wanted to try the sausage platter special. It was very good and came with potato salad and sauerkrat. We will recommend this restaurant to our friends. The beer selection was also very good and they had all the draft beers that i like.

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Owner at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

David, thank you very much for your review. It was my pleasure to meet you and your wife and I hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Have been here numerous times. Always have had a great meal. The owner/chef always makes sure everything is to your liking.

Thank bigbill7754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Inhaber at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you very much, William. Allways good to get feedback (special is it good :)
Hope to see you soon again, you're very welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Frog Restaurant also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucky Frog Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing