We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Faded Rose in the Desert” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
New Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Faded Rose in the Desert”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

By now I should probably understand that when other reviewers write "quaint" or "rustic", I should run in the other direction. I had read mixed reviews about this hotel before booking but persevered; I should have chosen another option.
Let's start with the positives: The location of the hotel is good in the sense that it is very close to one of the main entrances to Death Valley National Park. Death Valley Junction is indeed a "junction", of two state highways. Towns where one can purchase gas and food are 30-35 miles in any direction, north, south, east and west. So, the hotel is very quiet, and the setting is beautiful in a desert-y way (I live in the desert, so I like deserts). Another plus is the very nice people who run the hotel. I met three different women, when I checked in, had questions, and checked out the next morning, and each one was extremely kind and pleasant. They told us where we could have dinner, the café on the property being closed the day we arrived, and the restaurant where they sent us was a real find (reviewed separately). Another plus is that the rates are fairly low for the area - we paid half of what it would have cost to stay at a hotel or ranch INSIDE the national park. So, those are the plus factors.
But... this is a very old property whose owners clearly do not have the capital to upgrade it or even keep it in reasonable repair. And the rates are high for the kind of facility that it is. This stay was part of a 6-day budget trip from AZ to CA, and it was the most expensive and most run-down place we stayed. The shower stall in my room was missing tiles and the sink faucet had a continuous drip, which also discolored the sink. See attached photos. The beds were adequate, not terrifically comfortable. My traveling companion wanted to re-charge her camera and said she had to unplug the light in her room to use the single outlet available. The hotel does offer WiFi, but it worked primarily in the lounge area of the hotel, not in the rooms, and I was told that there was normally a charge for the WiFi but that they would accept a donation in lieu of the charge, since they are a non-profit outfit. One's heart goes out to the managers, who are trying so hard to make the hotel succeed, but I think the task is beyond them. The facility needs a huge investment of funds, I think, to bring it up to adequate, and this money is clearly not available. So, would I stay there again? No. It was just too basic for me. I know that other reviewers have loved it, and that is great; it's just not my kind of place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    158
    72
    67
    98
See reviews for
80
248
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We left 5 minutes after arriving, in spite of the fact that we had (booked and) paid in advance and there was no chance of a refund. Room was inhabitable by any hygiene standard.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Death Valley Junction hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Place smelled bad and seemed unclean. With my allergies I left early with running nose...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNosturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

My son and his partner took my Mother and I for my Mothers 92nd birthday to see the Amargosa Opera House and Hotel. My Mother fell in love with it and offered to help paint and help with the upkeep for board and lodgings. I was spellbound, to think how talented Marta is to do what she has done. If I visit Amaragosa again you can keep 5 star hotels. Give me a
piece of history and great surroundings. The people who keep everything together are working wonders on the contributions they receive and they were wonderful to us. Good luck in the future, and it was worth the trip from England to visit you. It made our holiday. Thank you so much . Pat Roux

Room Tip: any room Marta has painted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank patthorndike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Amargosa for one night, on our way to Las Vegas. It is shabby, not quaint and not particularly cheap at around $102 per night. The night we stayed we had a thunderstorm and heavy rain (yes, in Death Valley!) which poured into the room through a couple of holes drilled into the ceiling, presumably to avoid the ceiling falling in. What with the rain and noisy air conditioning and youngsters running up and down the corridor we had little sleep. We got the impression that there was no management on site during the night as next morning there was no one around at all to speak to, just a box for us to leave our key. We complained but have not heard back. What a dump!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tallen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley Junction
12.4 km away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
39.9 km away
Pahrump Nugget Hotel and Gambling Hall
38.7 km away
Shoshone Inn
Shoshone Inn
#1 of 1 in Shoshone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 km away
Pahrump RV Park & Lodging
40.2 km away
Preferred RV Resort
Preferred RV Resort
#3 of 5 in Pahrump
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Property: Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price range (per night): RM341 - RM394
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amargosa Opera House and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing