We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisit: Still a very good stay, though hotel is almost by itself by the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Follow-up revisit review: We chose to stay again at this hotel, given our prior positive experience. We did not mind that the hotel is remote, right on the river, and this time we received a room overlooking the river. The view was of Camden, NJ across the river, and can see the retired battleship New Jersey, along with the Benjamin Franklin bridge (see attached pictures).

For those of you who don't mind being away from the hub-bub of downtown Philly, and travelling via taxi, car, or a few minutes walk to Old City or South Street (for bars, restaurants), or a little further walk, historic Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, then you can't go wrong with the Hyatt at Penn's Landing. Be aware: the seaport right below is essentially non-existent, and on other side of hotel = front, there is a full highway (I-95) sunken further below. Not very noisy, but an occasional honking, cars whizzing by, or motorcycle rumbling reminds you it's there. Don't worry, there are overpasses at street level to get past the highway. Ask for a room with a river view if you are sensitive to noise, but not a big issue as windows are thick enough.

Room was comfortable, clean and spacious. King bed on a high floor. Bathroom was clean and as expected. Standard and acceptable. Front desk is a little 'stiff' and needs a little 'warmth', but efficient.

We would continue to recommend this hotel to all, including families. Did not note a pool in the hotel, and we did not try the restaurants or bars in the hotel...we prefer not to for any hotel, given the many options in the city. Why eat at a hotel when there are so many options, cuisines in the city, within easy reach??

Happy Hotel-ing!

Room Tip: Request a room on river side ... city side is ok, but river side avoids highway noise below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unbiased&FairAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Unbiased & FairAdvisor,

Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us again as well as providing your commentary on your experiences. We appreciate it .

Interesting comment on the team at the fromnt desk. We've hired a number of new staff members at the desk recently. Great feedback for us. I have shared your comments with the Front Office Manager that oversees that team. This will help him fine tune. That attention together with time in position will do it. Crucial information for us.

Hope we'll see you again soon. all the best.

Mike Costello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,090 - 2,094 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

I had a very nice stay at this hotel. The only thing that I really have to complain about is how thin the walls were. One of the night I was there, a large group of people came back to their rooms after the bars closed and they were loud. Now this isnt the hotels fault, but the walls are so thin, it was like the were yelling inside my room. After about ten minutes of them yelling back and forth I almost called down stairs but they left the floor before I had the chance. Other than this, the hotel was nice, could use a little touching up but the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. I would stay here again if I was ever in Philly. The biggest draw back about the city, not just the hotel is how much parking is. We paid 25 bucks a night to park at the hotel. So if you can find somewhere that had parking included, I would definitely do that instead.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAGirlWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear LAGirlWorldTraveler,

Thank you for staying with us. I regret some other guests returning to the hotel later at night were too loud. If it goes on for longer than you feel is acceptable please always call downstairs. our security personnel do a walk through of all floors but are often not on a floor at the moment someone is too loud. We send them back up to the floor and they address it directly with the loud group . They monitor the area for any other disturbance as well.

In regards to the parking.....seems that is somewhat of a subjective topic. We try to remain in a very competitive position relative to other similar hotels in the area. We compare very favorably on the lower end of the price points. Also, we offer self parking for a savings as well as valet parking.

Hopefully there will be another opportunity for you to head east again and we'll have the opportunity to have you with us again.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed at the Hyatt Penn's Landing for a convention in March. Check-in was quick and efficient. Room assigned was on a high floor with a king bed, as requested. While the view was nothing spectacular (city view), it suited my needs. The bathroom was nice, with granite countertop. All surfaces (shower, counter, toilet, etc) were cleaned adequately. I had the breakfast buffet at Keating's River Grill one morning. While it was very good with a nice variety, it was a bit pricey. The waitstaff was very accommodating.

The meeting facilities were fine, and the snacks provided during the breaks hit the spot. Actually, all the meals served during the meeting were good.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt Penn's Landing. I travel to Philly quite a bit and it will be one of my go-to hotels. One word of caution - this hotel is a little removed from the action. That could be good or bad, depending on your perspective.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Hello dkstyle,

Glad we had the opportunity to host the comnevtion you were in town for and have you stay with us. Thanks for sharing your feedback and it was great to read that the staff, facilities and food met all of your needs while you were here.

I hope you'll return for a leisure focused stay. The historical sites of Old City as well as great restaurants available in that part of town are close by. Cross over at the hotel driveway or take the pedestrian footbridge adjacent to the hotel. With cabs staging just across from the hotel we can also get you into one of those if preferred.

Thanks again. Enjoy the holidays. Hope you have you with us again soon.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Very clean and comfortable. Very polite and attentive staff. Reserved a king bed room, but none were available when we arrived, so had to take a 2 queen room . Self parking area requires 2 elevator transfers and a 50-yard walk...and costs $25 overnight! No free wi-fi...unexpected since many lower cost hotels offer free access. Light fixtures in elevators need cleaning. Again.....the lack of attention to detail is surprising in a Hyatt property.

Also, if you want to use a Hyatt travel certificate (same as cash), they will not issue another voucher or certificate if you don't use the entire amount. I used a $100 face value Hyatt travel certificate at checkout to pay for a $68 food and beverage tab. I was told that I would just lose the $32 remaining on the certificate! This is nickel-and-diming their customers. Really gave me a bad impression of Hyatt corporate policy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have been coming to the Hyatt at Pennsylvania Landing on and off for years-it really is a fabulous hotel. The location is so beautiful and the rooms are a great size. The one thing I love about this hotel the most though, is it's staff. Firstly, over ten years I have seen a lot of the same faces-which to me also says they treat their staff well-which is important to me. The are always friendly and warm and are also knowledgeable. I really can't say enough nice things- thanks for a great escape!

Room Tip: It's really nice to be higher up for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear Villiers,

Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us once again while visiting Philadelphia. We really appreciate it as well as the time you took to share your feedback from this most recent stay.

Always great to learn the hotel met a guest's needs and the staff was very hospitable. Hope you'll come back again soon. Safe travels in the meantime.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Address: 201 S Columbus Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3101 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: RM585 - RM1,882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property located at the doorstep of Center City, and walkable to Philadelphia's Historic Sites. Take in wonderful city views from a spacious and elegantly furnished guest room. Stay connected with WiFi at the oversized desk, or recline on the plush bed and watch the flat-screen TV. Additional in-room amenities include an iHome alarm clock radio, refrigerator and in-room safe. Choose an inviting suite for more space and amenities, or treat yourself to the ultimate Penn's Landing stay in the luxurious Owner's Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing