We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best address in all of Astoria ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

It's a must destination - a broad window overlooking the Columbia River, a fireplace, microwave and refrigerator, snuggly beds, a daily newspaper, free WiFi and breakfast, a boardroom and meeting rooms, a gum, pool and jacuzzi... Only heaven can beat this place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

21 - 25 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

The room was spotless and well equipped with all of the aminities. Bed was comfortable & view was spectacular. Astoria is a fun little town with lots to do. The trolley to downtown is just steps away. The morning breakfast was good, with a nice choice. About what you get at most hotel morning free breakfasts. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: River side rather than hill side
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank _snyderdennis_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The front desk welcomed me and thanked me for my membership status. The hotel, room, and bathroom were clean. The room and bathroom were very spacious and the bathroom has good counter space. There was an ethernet cable already plugged into the wall jack and the cable passed through a weight on the table top that kept the pc-end tip in place. The front desk called to make sure everything was alright. A nice touch. The early coffee before breakfast was hot, but could be hotter. The breakfast is standard items that are hot and replaced quickly.
The hotel promotes towel reuse, which is fine. The problem is no towel bars in the bathroom to hang up washrags and towels to dry overnight. The only way is to hang everything over the shower curtain rod, which is inadequate for a family of three or more. I and my wife went to the front desk the next morning and I said I had a strong suggestion regarding towel reuse, which was to install towel bars in the bathroom for drying. The front desk person’s attitude changed to stone cold and seeming indifference. She said the hotel was built to standard specifications, but she would tell the manager. I and my wife both detected the immediate attitude change and that seems to us to be poor guest relations. Most, if not all, HIEs are franchises, so that gives the hotel owner leeway to add enhancements over and above the standard construction design. The hotel owner could encourage this washrag and towel reuse with three or more towel racks in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the harbor, not the noisy front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Nice place. Great lobby decor. (This we know, for we were stuck there 3 hours.) Great breakfast area. Great views. But front desk was not helpful when they said to just wait a bit for our room and that "they were working on it"... The problem was, it was a 3 HOUR WAIT ! I kept checking back, yet when I began to protest, they were dismissive & defensive. The better front desk choice might have been to say ""Gosh . So sorry. We were sold out last night and housekeeping is working as fast as they can. Why don't you come back at 3 p.m. and all be be well... because then I could have ENJOYED ASTORIA by walking the streets, visiting the art galleries, shopping, adding to the economy, seeing the new restaurants, generally enjoying the ambiance of the area. Instead, we sat, and sat, staring at the lobby walls, believing the front desk - hook, line and sinker that the room would be soon ready. So some staff on front desk need to communicate far better. Kudos, nevertheless, to the great breakfast team who kept the area pristine, and to Mike and Brittney, better front desk people than the other, and to the night lady, a sweet local gal. She gave me her sympathies for the drawn out check-in.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kickitat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Other reviewers are correct in their review of this place -- its clean, comfortable, and located in a good spot in Astoria. We enjoyed 3 nights here and found the place to be very good. Our room overlooked the bridge and we enjoyed both the sunsets and sun rises. We could see ships going along the Columbia. Outside, we could stroll on the Riverwalk to nearby wharf and shops. Plenty of free parking. The morning breakfast was typical Holiday Inn but generous and we appreciated it.

Our room, with 2 queen beds was very large and spacious so we enjoyed the extra room. Fridge and microwave worked and the wifi was great.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.4 km away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,277 reviews
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.2 km away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.6 km away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
771 reviews
22.8 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: RM 486 - RM 1,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing