We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Kid Having Fun”

Port Discovery Children's Museum
Ranked #38 of 248 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Port Discovery Children’s Museum is ranked among the top 5 children’s museums in the United States! (Child Magazine)Port Discovery offers three floors of interactive, educational exhibits and ever-changing programs for children ages birth through 10. Toddle and crawl through Tot Trails. Get healthy and fit in Kick It Up!. Splish splash in Wonders of Water. Shop and pump gas at the Royal Farms Convenience Store and Fill’er Up Station. Cook and serve food in Tiny’s Diner or climb and slide through KidWorks, a 3-story urban treehouse.Port Discovery Children's Museum hosts educational programs, special events, and special exhibits, including the upcoming Nickelodeon's Dora & Diego - Let's Explore! exhibit, coming to the Museum September 16thm 2017 through February 19, 2018.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I think I had as much fun on the Jungle than my 7 year old son. I love the fact that it's actually 3 floors talls and many different entries and exits but you can see your child from every angle, loved it.

Thank JACKSTERR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are so glad you had a fun visit! Port Discovery tends to bring out the inner child in everyone! We hope to see you and your son in the Museum again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"water room"
in 32 reviews
"climbing structure"
in 30 reviews
"jungle gym"
in 18 reviews
"water works"
in 11 reviews
"all ages"
in 34 reviews
"older kids"
in 18 reviews
"water play"
in 8 reviews
"change of clothes"
in 7 reviews
"art room"
in 5 reviews
"bring extra clothes"
in 4 reviews
"toddler area"
in 4 reviews
"parking validation"
in 4 reviews
"royal farms"
in 7 reviews
"great place for kids"
in 11 reviews
"year olds"
in 14 reviews
"different areas"
in 10 reviews
"young ones"
in 5 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

A great outing with kids under 12. Interesting and educational. Handy eats nearby. Parking can be an issue.

Thank jgieske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thanks so much for visiting! We're glad you found your trip to Port Discovery interesting and educational! We hope you visit again soon and that parking is not difficult this time around! Let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We visited Baltimore just so that we could come back to the museum. We were here 5 years ago when our daughter was 2 and now we have a 3 year old. We wanted him to experience it as well. The museum did not disappoint. There are 3 floors of nothing but exhibits for children to enjoy all day. My son loved the Soccer area and we had to visit that exhibit twice. The kids were so tired when we left, but very happy. If you have children, this is a must!

Thank Jeaketa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi, Jeaketa - Thank you so much for your kind feedback, and for making a special trip to Baltimore to visit Port Discovery! We love that you brought your family back to enjoy and rediscover the Museum, and that everyone had such a happy visit. Hope you have had a chance to rest up, and that you'll be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Would be 5 stars if it was admission was not so expensive. We enjoy coming here especially in the winter time. The indoor playground/treehouse is guaranteed to exhaust the kids. I'd recommend mostly for kids 10 and under. They do have everything here from imaginary play, art, music and educational rooms.

1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback! We appreciate you visiting us and spending your time and hard-earned money with us. We do try to keep our admission prices as low and competitive as possible. As a non-profit, your admission prices are not only helping us maintain the Museum but also ensure that we can provide quality programming both at the Museum and in classrooms, Head Starts, Judy Centers and other areas in and around Baltimore, while also helping us provide access programs to children and families who otherwise could not enjoy our Museum or programs. We thank you for making it possible to do this great work! ~ Chris B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

I was there about 8 years ago and just went back this week. The museum it showing a lot of were & tear. The exhibits are old & in need of an upgrade, At 16.00 per person, it is not by any means a bargain.

Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback! We appreciate you visiting us and spending your time and hard-earned money with us. We know you have many options of places to take your children and appreciate that you brought your family to our Museum. We design our exhibits to be hands-on, interactive and educational, which also leads to them being well-loved. We hear you that the exhibits are in need of an upgrade, and our teams are working on re-imagining what the Museum will look like in the future. We welcome your ideas! Please feel free to reach out to us directly at cbrown@portdiscovery.org. ~ Chris B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Discovery Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Port Discovery Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing