We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ideal for kids age 6+”

Port Discovery Children's Museum
Ranked #29 of 245 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Port Discovery Children’s Museum is ranked among the top 5 children’s museums in the United States! (Child Magazine)Port Discovery offers three floors of interactive, educational exhibits and ever-changing programs for children ages birth through 10. Toddle and crawl through Tot Trails. Get healthy and fit in Kick It Up!. Splish splash in Wonders of Water. Shop and pump gas at the Royal Farms Convenience Store and Fill’er Up Station. Cook and serve food in Tiny’s Diner or climb and slide through KidWorks, a 3-story urban treehouse.Port Discovery Children's Museum hosts educational programs, special events, and special exhibits, including the upcoming Nickelodeon's Dora & Diego - Let's Explore! exhibit, coming to the Museum September 16thm 2017 through February 19, 2018.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We visited Port Discovery based on other reviews. It’s a great place for kids age 5 and under. My 6-yr old was a bit bored in the toy kitchen and several areas meant for younger children. She enjoyed the climbing structure and art room. We didn’t experience the water room as it was closed for maintenance. She felt done within one hour. It’s overpriced for the time we spent. Side note- after getting parking validation ticket and using it at the adjacent market garage, it did not provide any discount, charging us the full $20.

Thank indicatory_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that your visit wasn’t as engaging as you had hoped. Our exhibits are designed for a variety of age ranges and hope that all of our visitors enjoy several hours of play and learning when they visit the Museum. We are working on ideas for new programs, events and exhibits that will engage our members and visitors. We’d love to hear any ideas that you may – especially to engage older children - have so that we can incorporate that feedback into future experiences at the Museum! We’re also sorry to hear that the Parking Validation offered by the garage did not work. While we do not manage the parking garage, if you can advise when you visited, we can alert the garage regarding this issue. Please visit our website periodically for updates on any renovations and opening of new exhibit areas. We hope you will make a return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

We went with a group of three children and they had a blast. There is so much to do and see, the kids were kept busy of hours. They loved the climbing tour in the middle of the museum and a close second was the water room followed by the Egyptian room. The museum was clean and well organized. The price was not bad for all that the museum had to offer. Our kids were 9 and 10 and still enjoyed it, but would not recommend for children any older.

Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback! We're so glad to hear you had a great visit and hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I think I had as much fun on the Jungle than my 7 year old son. I love the fact that it's actually 3 floors talls and many different entries and exits but you can see your child from every angle, loved it.

Thank JACKSTERR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are so glad you had a fun visit! Port Discovery tends to bring out the inner child in everyone! We hope to see you and your son in the Museum again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A great outing with kids under 12. Interesting and educational. Handy eats nearby. Parking can be an issue.

Thank jgieske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thanks so much for visiting! We're glad you found your trip to Port Discovery interesting and educational! We hope you visit again soon and that parking is not difficult this time around! Let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We visited Baltimore just so that we could come back to the museum. We were here 5 years ago when our daughter was 2 and now we have a 3 year old. We wanted him to experience it as well. The museum did not disappoint. There are 3 floors of nothing but exhibits for children to enjoy all day. My son loved the Soccer area and we had to visit that exhibit twice. The kids were so tired when we left, but very happy. If you have children, this is a must!

Thank Jeaketa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi, Jeaketa - Thank you so much for your kind feedback, and for making a special trip to Baltimore to visit Port Discovery! We love that you brought your family back to enjoy and rediscover the Museum, and that everyone had such a happy visit. Hope you have had a chance to rest up, and that you'll be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Discovery Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Port Discovery Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing