We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delicious food and lots of fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charm City Food Tours

Charm City Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 13 Food & Drink in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Food Tours and Culinary Events in Baltimore, Maryland. Part of the Food Tour Corporation, and sister company of DC Metro Food Tours
Souderton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I went on the same tour as Judy M, and totally agree it was so enjoyable with the group, and the food was icing on the cake. I have been telling everyone since I got home if you go to Baltimore definitely do the Fell's Point tour. There was plenty of food (and adult beverages!) to keep you going, and enough walking to make you not feel guilty about all the food. I even emailed my dad about the pit beef place we stopped at because it was SO good, I wanted to encourage him to stop there on his way home from the south! Zack was so much fun, we want him to do tours of the other areas just so we can hang out again and try more food together!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaS417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    25
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the money - tour guide Zack very knowledgeable - great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Bring 12 people together from different parts of the country for the first time--and one never knows what to expect . Well this tour was the best. First of all Zack knew his history of Fells Point and even though some of us had been to Fells Point in the past we still learned new facts about the town. Our group meshed and by the end of the day we took a group picture. The variety of food we tasted just added to the enjoyment of the day. Zack explained a little background on each restaurant and lots of history facts. The day ended with the perfect dessert and drink - no one - including the 3 guys in our group went home hungary.
This tour is a bargain....don't miss it....and ask for Zack as your tour guide.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Depends on your tour guide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have gone on several food tours in different cities and would have to rate this one as very mediocre. I think your experience would depend on which tour guide you got and although ours seemed to be a very nice young lady, she did not seem to have the knowledge or personality to be a tour guide. She spent a great deal of time texting while we were on the tour and speaking to the owners of restaurants to arrange future tours. She kept mentioning how she was a "foodie" but liking food and knowing about it are two different things. Her knowledge of the history of the neighborhood was not impressive. I would not recommend this tour.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank zelda1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great way to experience Baltimore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Baltimore for a 3 day weekend, and one of the first things we did was the Fell's Point food tour, which was a great way to get a "taste" of the city. There were only four of us, plus the guide (Sharen), which was a great size. I loved that it was a combination of history and food, plus we sampled everything from hot dogs (@ Stuggy's-awesome) to crab cakes to frozen yogurt. The amount of food was enough for a meal, but since the tour was from 3:30 to 6:30, we did get a bit hungry by 10. Many of the places we visited we ended up going back to, so I recommend doing this tour at the beginning of your stay. I think it was a great value for the price!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CMG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience - history and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I recently went on the Fell's Point Food Tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. This was a new experience for us. A group of 12 of us were lead through the back streets of the area and learned so much about the history and development of this part of Baltimore. Our guide Zach was a wealth of information! Along the way we stopped at 6 different locations to try the specialty of the restaurant/bar. It was a great time and we certainly would do it again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty4764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charm City Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Charm City Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing