We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate Venue, Great show!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Center Stage

Center Stage
Ranked #55 of 224 things to do in Baltimore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The State Theater of Maryland, CENTERSTAGE is currently celebrating its 50th Anniversary Season. The not-for-profit company serves as Maryland’s hub for smart, provocative, and entertaining theater and as a catalyst for conversation with the community.Each year, a consistently broad range of productions in two intimate performing spaces attracts highly diverse audiences of more than 100,000 people—including more than 8,000 fiercely loyal members, many of whom have been with the theater during its entire history. Additionally, CENTERSTAGE offers a variety of dramaturgical, community, and educational programs to broaden access and enhance the theatergoing experience. Our Mission Statement: CENTERSTAGE is an artistically driven institution committed to engaging, educating, and expanding the horizons of diverse audiences through challenging, bold, thought-provoking classical and contemporary theater. Values central to our mission are: Rigorous pursuit of excellence Courage to take risks Commitment to diversity and inclusion Belief in continual learning, exploration, and discovery Fiscal integrity
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intimate Venue, Great show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We saw Gleam at Center Stage and it was very well done, the actors were captivating and the lighting and set were well designed. I was very impressed with the size and intimacy of the theater itself. I like to be close to the action. Very rewarding experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank cjazzbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real theater, supporting the arts in a city that needs it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Great shows, dinner, drinks... A real destination for an evening!

Helpful?
Thank Backpacker2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Go to Center Stage if you love theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Center Stage is a perfect place to see a play. The plays are not run of the mill plays you normally see in small local theaters. they are spectacularly presented and performed. It's better than off Broadway. Baltimore is lucky to have Center Stage. Tickets are reasonable and affordable. have a bite to eat at the cafe before the show or walk around Mount Vernon for a Baltimore that you do not normally see.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Professional Repertory Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My favorite cultural venue. Have been a season ticket holder for 20+ years. Equity actors and top notch talent and variety of plays offered Sept - April.

Helpful?
Thank jacbalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Charmed and Dangerous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Center Stage is a cultural gem in downtown Baltimore, with at least 2 different venues. One is a cabaret style venue, where you can sit in either regular theater sets or at small bistro tables. There is a bar i nthe back that stays open throughout the show, serving various libations at reasonable prices. We saw Second City do a Baltimore show, and the venue was perfect for it.

They have a geat season of shows, and so many options for buying reasonably priced tickets in various custom combinations that one can find somethng that fits their tastes and budget, no matter who you are. Their season has such a range of live theater, and such an incredible list of credits in the talent. The building itself is very clean and comfortable, and the box office staff was wonderfully accomodating and patient.

Aside fromt he bar in the cabaret, there was also a bar downstairs, same reasonable prices. i think there was also a bar on another floor ,as well, and a restaurant that i wish i had been aware of before our show, rather than afterwards, when it was closed and and too late for a meal anyway....

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank southam97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Center Stage also viewed

 

Been to Center Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing