We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arr Wonderful Place to Eat”
Review of The Pirates' House

The Pirates' House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Historical Drinking Tour of Savannah
More Info
US$22.00*
and up
Savannah's Historic Grave Encounters Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century bar was a rendezvous point for pirates.
Woodstock, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arr Wonderful Place to Eat”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was my second visit to The Pirates' House and it was just as good as before. Wonderful place to eat when visiting Savannah.

The atmosphere is always fun and the food is always good. There was even a pirate wench walking about, telling good ol' stories about the house's history. Our waitress (can't recall her name) was pleasant and always there to fill up our glasses.

All in all, it was another great time!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mudrock95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    337
    175
    48
    50
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Arrr, Mateys, Enjoy the Fare.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Having a wonderful Southern Buffet attended by "genuine" pirates is a must for any visit to Savannah. The delightful building, with its nooks and crannies, is several hundred years old and catered to real pirates in its early days.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Patsy_SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best Mac & Cheese Ever!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is our second visit to Savannah and our second visit to The Pirate House. The atmosphere is fun and service both times were perfect. The food was awesome, place was clean and comfortable and pricing was reasonable. Since we had gone last year we have been craving their macaroni and cheese. It is the best we've ever had! The Restaurant is historic and the location was easy to walk to or to park. If you walk across the street to the riverfront the Waving Girl Statue is right there. And if you like "haunted houses" you can check out the Hampton Lillibridge House that is a 3 minute walk away on East St. Julian Street . Of course they say The Pirate's House is haunted as well! So be sure no one slips a mickey in your drink! Hope you enjoy as much as we did. If you're in Savannah you have to make time to have lunch or dinner at this Restaurant. Thanks for everything Management and Staff at The Pirate House!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WorryFreePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesboro, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is one of our favorites in Savannah. The honey pecan fried chicken is a must try, but since it is on their lunch buffet as well as their dinner menu, I recomend paying half the price for the same thing at lunch. If youre looking for a romantic spot go in the evening as they always give us better seats when we're evening guest than buffet guests, but you will pay for it. Also great: thier she-crab soup/bisque

Helpful?
1 Thank ED85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get the Punch and pretend to be a Pirate.”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Don't go to Savannah without going here! The food (particularly their seafood dishes) was great, server was better (gave us LOTS of travelers tips), and the building is really cool! Make sure to read up on the history of the building before you go. If you're a drinker don't go without getting the 200 yr old punch recipe, but be careful how many you have as they pack a PUNCH! Get it?

It include the oldest building in Savannah and if you are short on time, go a bit later and have the man dressed as a pirate show you around. He does a great job staying in character while informing you of the history surrounding the building (don't forget to tip him!). If you have more time, sign up for one of the tours that will actually take you underneath the building. Unfortunately, the regular patrons of the restaurant are not allowed below ground.

This was a unique restaurant and a great end to our trip! I would definitely go again!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pirates' House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Pirates' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing