We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ballastone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballastone Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here right after Christmas for a belated 25th anniversary celebration. The Inn was beautifully decorated and it is a lovey and cozy place. The food was wonderful and afternnoon tea made the day. Everything was delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The Inn is within walking distance of everything. This is the only place to stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    72
    30
    23
    21
See reviews for
73
518
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at the Ballastone Inn between Christmas and New Year. It was a wonderful escape after a very busy holiday season. We stayed in Rhett Butler's retreat, and the linens were exquisite, we did not want to get out of bed in the mornings. The accommodations, as well as the attentiveness of the staff, made our stay in Savannah memorable! We will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wstbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple City, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We loved our experience at the Inn. Everything and everyone was "top notch." The breakfast had to be the best we have ever had. I still remember the taste of the orange ricotta pancakes. This breakfast fills you up and you are warmly received and taken care of to the "nth" degree. The hors d'oeuvres for cocktails were second best of all. But, the people who run the house should be honored everyday they work for the inn. Their helpful suggustions and overalll care made for the ultimate experience. We hated to go on with our trip... Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gazebo Room with another room (Oglethorpe) that was connected to us for our friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xelajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I spent an overnight in Savannah and were thoroughly delighted with our stay at the Ballastone Inn. Christy was outstanding in helping with our last minute reservations and got back to us with room and arrival details speedily. When we arrived for our first visit to Savannah, the Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas, tea was being served in the parlor creating a gracious and welcoming atmosphere; and our room was classically and richly decorated and comfortably laid out. This is a first class property with excellent customer service. An exceptional find. We're world travelers and we'd rank the Ballastone as a unique property with a staff that demonstrates customer focus that exceeds expectations. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Free parking behind the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTYankee143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2011

What a charming place to stay, whether it be for a celebration or a visit to this enchanting city. The Ballastone gives you a sense of history and luxury all in one. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was divine.

Room Tip: The 16 rooms are each unique. Some are on the main floor, but the upper floors seem more elegant. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylouearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,078 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballastone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballastone Inn

Property: Ballastone Inn
Address: 14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price range (per night): RM936 - RM1,597
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballastone Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic bed and breakfast in Savannah GA steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA B&B features delectable breakfasts every morning, high tea on sterling silver every afternoon, and evening hors d'oeuvres with drinks at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah bed and breakfast is dedicated to gracious southern service with top rate 24-hour concierge. Romantic suites, free off-street parking and a private elevator rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ballastone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballastone Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing